All About the GED: Montana

Starting in 2014, Montana residents who did not finish high school have used the HiSET exam in place of the General Educational Development (GED) test. With multiple venues for preparation and testing, Montana residents have the resources necessary to pursue the HiSET.

The HiSET in Montana

As of January 1, 2014, Montana stopped offering the General Educational Development (GED) exam. In place of the GED, Montana offers the HiSET exam from ETS (Educational Testing Service).

Overview of the HiSET

The HiSET is a 5-subject timed test administered in an official testing facility. The five subject areas that make up the test are language arts reading and writing, math, social studies, and science. The test is meant to assess the taker's knowledge of the academic subjects typically taught in high school. The test is currently available in English and Spanish. The HiSET is available in both paper- and computer-based formats.

Preparing for the Montana HiSET

As part of the HiSET program, ETS provides test-takers with access to a variety of free study aids through the company's website (www.hiset.ets.org). The site hosts tutorial videos, study companions, sample tests, practice questions, and study tips. In addition to the free aids, ETS offers a selection of low-cost test preparation material.

Another option for test-takers is enrolling in a local adult education course. These courses can often be found through the state's education department, or through the America's Literacy Directory (literacydirectory.org).

Testing Requirements for the Montana HiSET

Montana's eleven HiSET testing centers allow students aged 19 years or older and not enrolled in high school to sit for the exam without any additional requirements or prerequisites. Individuals who are 16, 17, or 18 years old may be eligible for the exam if certain criteria are met. The criteria are different for each of the three age groups, so you should visit the Montana HiSET Requirements webpage to learn what documentation is needed.

As Montana requires test-takers to be residents of the state, you will need to present a government-issued photo ID to prove both identity and residency.

Accommodations and Re-Testing

Students requiring accommodations to take the HiSET must have their requests approved by ETS prior to scheduling a test date. Individuals will need to complete the HiSET Testing Accommodations Request Form (found on the HiSET website) and submit the form to ETS for approval.

Those needing to retake the HiSET are not required to wait between retakes. However, ETS only allows students to take a subject area subtest 3 times in a calendar year.

Search Degrees, Careers, or Schools