Education Portal is now! We still offer the same great content and features, with more added every day, just under a new name. Learn more x

Bloom's Taxonomy and Online Education: Overview of Education Theory

Learn about the theory behind Bloom's Taxonomy. Find out how this educational taxonomy is applicable to online learning, including how instructors can use it to help develop online courses and materials.

View 12 Popular Schools »

Essential Information

Bloom's Taxonomy is framework for understanding the way students learn. This taxonomy is one of the most widely used taxonomies in the field of education and is also one of the easiest taxonomies to understand. According to Georgia Southern University, Bloom's Taxonomy serves as the starting point for all instructional design, including online instruction.

Although Bloom's Taxonomy was developed in the 1950's before students began using computers on a regular basis, it is relevant for online learning today. Bloom's Taxonomy can be used in virtually all parts of the online learning process, from writing course content to coming up with topics for online discussions.

Bloom's Education Theory

Bloom's Taxonomy was developed on the premise that there are six levels of cognitive learning. All of these levels together represent a hierarchy. In order to reach the next level, you must master the previous level. These are the levels of Bloom's Taxonomy:

Knowledge We learn by memorizing.
Comprehension We learn by understanding and interpreting what we've been taught.
Application We learn by using the course material in everyday situations.
Analysis We learn by examining, comparing and contrasting.
Synthesis We learn by creating new associations between ideas.
EvaluationWe learn by assessing the value of the information we've received.

Relevance for Online Education

With Bloom's Taxonomy, online instructors can define learning objectives and formulate questions and assignments based on each level of cognitive learning. Instructors can use interactive activities, like blog writing, scenario simulation games and case study analysis, to move students to higher levels within Bloom's hierarchy of learning. For example, when students use the Internet to conduct research for their classes, they can move beyond the basic 'knowledge', or fact-gathering, stage and apply analysis to the information they find, according to the article Using Learning Styles to Adapt Technology for Higher Education, by Terry O'Connor. Students can even develop their own websites to carry out a class project.

Show me popular schools

Related to Bloom's Taxonomy and Online Education: Overview of Education Theory

  • Related
  • Recently Updated
  • Popular
Department of Education Releases Proposal on Gainful Employment

The U.S. Department of Education has finally released their proposed regulation defining the 'gainful employment' requirement...

Department of Education Proposes New Student Aid Rules

After a year of negotiations, the Department of Education has released a set of proposed new regulations governing the use of...

Feds Scrutinize Department of Education's Oversight of Special Funding for Minority-Serving Institutions

The Government Accountability Office recently released a report highlighting misuses of Titles III and V funds at...

Department of Education Accused of Fleecing Taxpayers

Oversights at the Department of Education allowed lenders to improperly collect more than $600 million of student loan...

Higher Education Legislation Seeks to Undo New Department of Education Rules

Popular Schools

Popular Schools

Avg. Wages For Related Jobs

Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics