South Carolina High School Diploma Program
The South Carolina Department of Education's adult education office was created to assist adults in completing their high school education. Adult education programs and courses are located throughout the state of South Carolina. You can earn your diploma in about one year; however, many adult education programs in South Carolina stipulate that you can only earn a maximum number of credits - usually six or eight - per year. Also, you are not permitted to receive your diploma earlier than the class of students with whom you started high school.
In order to enroll in an adult education program in South Carolina, you must have previously earned 16 credits toward your high school diploma. In order to take the GED test in South Carolina, you must be at least 19 years old. If you are 16 years old, a court order letter must be sent to the GED office in Columbia or you must be under the jurisdiction of DJJ in order to take the test. You might also be required to live within a specific school district to enroll in some adult education programs. Students who have previously completed fewer than 16 credits toward a diploma are not eligible for the adult education program, but can pursue the General Educational Development (GED) credential, which is largely equivalent to a high school diploma.
To earn your high school diploma, you must earn a total of 24 credits or units. The 16 or more credits previously earned through attending high school could apply to that credit requirement. In addition, you might be able to apply relevant training or work experience toward your diploma requirements, although there is a limit to the number of credits that can be awarded this way. To earn the needed credits, you might participate in a number of courses, such as:
- Foreign language
- U.S. history
- Natural sciences (biology or chemistry)
- Computer science
- U.S. government
Exit Exam Information
According to a law passed by the General Assembly, students in South Carolina looking to get their GED do not have to complete the High School Assessment Program. This law was created April 14, 2014.