South University

Information about South University

Founded in 1899 in Savannah as a 2-year college, South University has grown over the years into a 4-year university in six states. In addition to its five colleges and schools, South University also has online programs in healthcare, business, information technology and criminal justice. The private, for-profit university is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Each campus offers its own mix of academic programs. The Savannah campus has the largest enrollment, with a recently opened School of Pharmacy offering a doctorate degree. The Richmond location is the newest South University campus.

Colleges and Schools of South University

College of Arts and Sciences

All South University campuses house a College of Arts and Sciences. Undergraduate degrees are available in legal and paralegal studies, criminal justice, graphic design and behavioral sciences. Master's programs are offered in professional counseling services and criminal justice.

College of Nursing

Bachelor's and master's degrees in nursing are offered through the College of Nursing, as well as a special bachelor's program for registered nurses who want to earn their degree. Classroom work is combined with interactive labs and clinical experience. Nursing program graduates are prepared for employment in private medical practices, hospitals, nursing facilities and community agencies.

College of Health Professions

Degree programs in medical and physical therapist assisting, anesthesiology and health science are offered by the College of Health Professions, as well as a program for prospective physician assistants. Technical, clinical, administrative and ethical training are part of the program. Graduates are prepared for employment in community clinics, research centers, hospitals, physician practices and pharmaceutical firms.

College of Business

Healthcare administration and management, accounting, business administration and information technology (IT) are the fields of study offered at South University's College of Business. IT is one of the most popular and growing majors, and the program includes industry-specific skills. The healthcare programs are designed for those already working in the field, as well as for students just beginning their education.

School of Pharmacy

The School of Pharmacy is located at the South University Savannah campus. A pharmacy school is also scheduled to open at the Columbia campus in 2010. The 12-quarter doctorate program can be completed in three years, versus the traditional 4-year program. The Doctor of Pharmacy program is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.

Contact Information

  • Address: 709 Mall Blvd., Savannah, GA 31406
  • Phone Number: (866) 629-2901