MCSE Certification and Certificate Program Overviews

Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE) certification is for information technology (IT) professionals who want to demonstrate their familiarity with the Microsoft servers and databases used to run computer networks and infrastructures. Certification candidates must pass an exam or series of exams to earn MCSE credentials.

Essential Information

Specialization options are available in business intelligence, server infrastructure, desktop infrastructure, data platform, communication, messaging, private cloud and SharePoint. Preparatory training for MCSE certification exams is available in a variety of formats. Some colleges and universities offer short-term continuing education certificate programs that focus exclusively on exam prep, while other certificate programs offer certification coursework as part of a networking or computer information systems track. There are also stand-alone courses developed to correspond with individual exams. These are typically offered in conjunction with Microsoft and can take as few as five days to complete.

  • Program Levels: Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE), Microsoft Certified Solutions Master (MCSM), Microsoft Certified IT Professional upgrades to current MCSE certification.
  • Program Fields: Windows Server 2012, Microsoft SQL Server 2012*
  • Prerequisites: Hands-on experience working in IT environment, preliminary exams (3)
  • Program Specializations: Microsoft SharePoint Server 2013, Microsoft System Center 2012, Microsoft Exchange Server 2013, Microsoft Lync Server 2013.
  • Program Length: Individual Microsoft exam courses, five days minimum
  • Other Requirements: MCSE re-certification every 3 years.

MCSE Certification

Introductory coursework can prepare certification candidates to pass the first three exams, which cover strategies for installing and administering Windows Server 2012 or Microsoft SQL Server 2012. Microsoft certification exam requirements will change as new products are released. Students pursuing either type of training can develop the skills required to design, configure, install and troubleshoot Microsoft database systems and servers. Depending on which certification option candidates are pursing, they can also take courses to learn how to monitor, develop or deploy the following:

  • Microsoft SharePoint Server 2013
  • Microsoft System Center 2012
  • Microsoft Exchange Server 2013
  • Microsoft Lync Server 2013

Continuing Education Information

Microsoft states that IT professionals who hold MCSE certification will need to update their credentials every three years by taking a recertification exam. Those who would like to earn the next level of certification can pursue the Microsoft Certified Solutions Master (MCSM) credential for data platforms, SharePoint, communication or messaging. Additionally, IT professionals with retired MCITP certifications may be able to upgrade to the MCSE designation by taking as few as three exams.

Search Degrees, Careers, or Schools