NOC Technician Training Programs and Requirements

NOC technicians are typically required to have a bachelor's degree in computer science and several years of networking administration experience. Bachelor programs train individuals to provide support to businesses that utilize communication networks.

Essential Information

The most common program pursued by those interested in becoming NOC technicians is computer science bachelor's degree. The curriculum includes core classes that teach students to recognize and troubleshoot a variety of networking errors and related issues. General education requirements also allow students to develop their communications skills so they are prepared to interact with clients in a variety of customer service situations. Although there are no licensure requirements for NOC technicians, graduates can become certified in specific programming languages or networking systems after graduation.

  • Program Levels: Bachelor's degrees
  • Prerequisites: High school diploma or GED
  • Program Length: 4 years

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

A bachelor's degree program in computer science covers a broad spectrum of computer-based concepts. Students study programming, design, network administration and computer security. Much of the coursework is based on computer algorithms, theories and information technology. Programs require four years of study and include courses on:

  • Computer programming
  • Principles of data structures
  • Computer and network algorithms
  • Computer science research and development
  • Database applications
  • Network security

Employment Outlook and Salary Information

According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), the employment for network and computer systems administrators is expected to grow 12% from 2102 to 2022. These professionals, as of May 2014, make an average wage of $79,770 per year, according to the BLS.

Continuing Education Information

NOC technicians are not required to be licensed or certified. However, NOC technicians with voluntary certification in specific areas of computer programming or networking often have better career prospects. NOC technicians can obtain Cisco Career Certification or Microsoft SQL Server Certification to boost employment opportunities.

Cisco Systems offers five levels of information technology certification. The levels consist of entry-level, associate, professional, expert and architect certification. NOC technicians can be certified in routing and switching, network design, network security, storage networking and wireless systems. Microsoft offers a variety of certifications for information technology professionals, including Microsoft Certified IT Professional (MCITP) certification and Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist (MCTS) certification.

To advance to higher tiers, NOC technicians must build their skill sets and relevant job experience. The Network and Systems Professional Association (NaSPA) holds yearly conferences and monthly training seminars that are occasionally recorded and posted online ( Conferences and workshops feature guest speakers in network management and discuss topics such as network security, software and programming certification, network reliability, virtualization of information and data management.

Technicians can also pursue advanced degrees in computer science and engineering in order to obtain higher-paying networking career opportunities. Additionally, NOC technicians can join NaSPA, which provides career and networking opportunities for professionals in the fields of network management and administration. NaSPA also offers members an online newsletter and two published magazines that provide industry information.

Search Degrees, Careers, or Schools