Candy Company had sales of $320,000 and cost of goods sold of $112,000. What is the gross profit margin (ratio of gross profit to sales)?
Profit margin refers to the profit earned as a percentage of sales. It is an important ratio as it forms an important basis to compare the different companies in the same or similar industry.
Answer and Explanation:
Gross profit margin = Gross profit / Sales x 100
= Sales - Cost of Goods sold
= $320,000.00 - $112,000.00
Gross Profit Margin
= 208,000 / 320,000.00 x 100
Become a member and unlock all Study Answers
Try it risk-free for 30 daysTry it risk-free
Ask a question
Our experts can answer your tough homework and study questions.Ask a question Ask a question
Learn more about this topic:
from Financial Accounting: Help and ReviewChapter 5 / Lesson 17