How can earth's layers be defined? (two answers) by their amounts of land area by their physical...


How can earth's layers be defined?

Layers of the Earth

Earth has three layers that consist of the crust, mantle and core. Three types of rocks are found in the crust, sedimentary, igneous, and metamorphic rock. The mantle is hot and dense and a semi-solid rock. In the core the Earth's magnetic field is made.

Answer and Explanation:

Earth has 5 different layers. Beginning with the outermost thin layer the crust which is further divided into two layers of oceanic and continental crust. One forms the bottom of the ocean basin and one forms the bottom of the continents. The next inner layer is the mantle and made up of the upper mantel the lithosphere and the lower mantle made of molten rock. The innermost layer is the core. It is solid and also has a inner and outer layer.

Learn more about this topic:

The Internal Layers & Structure of the Earth

from NYSTCE Earth Science (008): Practice and Study Guide

Chapter 2 / Lesson 3

Related to this Question

Explore our homework questions and answers library