How many kingdoms are there in the domain archaea?


How many kingdoms are there in the domain archaea?


Under the current system of biological classification, domain is the largest group. It is followed, in descending order of size, by kingdom, phylum, class, order, family, genus and species. You can remember this using the mnemonic phrase Dull King Phillip Came Over For Green Spaghetti.

Answer and Explanation:

There are three domains: archaea, bacteria and eukarya. There is only one kingdom in domain archaea: kingdom archaebacteria, sometimes simply called...

See full answer below.

Become a member to unlock this answer! Create your account

View this answer

Learn more about this topic:

Archaea: Definition, Characteristics & Examples

from Biology 103: Microbiology

Chapter 1 / Lesson 4

Recommended Lessons and Courses for You

Explore our homework questions and answer library