How many planets (including Pluto) are there, in all? Explain.


How many planets (including Pluto) are there in all? Explain.

Solar System:

Our solar system is composed of a central star, or the Sun, asteroids, comets, meteoroids and the planets, including their corresponding moons, all of which are connected by gravity. The solar system is located in one of the four spiral-like arms found in the Milky Way galaxy.

Answer and Explanation:

Our solar system is composed of eight planets:

1. Mercury, the closest planet to the Sun

2. Venus, the second-closest planet to the Sun

3. Earth, the third-closest planet to the Sun

4. Mars, the fourth-closest plant to the Sun

5. Jupiter, the fifth-closest planet to the Sun

6. Saturn, the sixth-closest planet to the Sun

7. Uranus, the seventh-closest planet to the Sun

8. Neptune, the planet furthest away from the Sun

Our solar system also has five dwarf planets:

1. Ceres

2. Pluto

3. Haumea

4. Makemake

5. Eris

Pluto was reclassified as a dwarf planet in 2006, decreasing the number of planets in our solar system from nine to eight.

Learn more about this topic:

What is a Solar System? - Planets & Model

from General Studies Earth & Space Science: Help & Review

Chapter 1 / Lesson 2

Related to this Question

Explore our homework questions and answers library