What are the Ivy League colleges?


What are the Ivy League colleges?

Elite League:

The term ''Ivy League'' was established in 1954. Elite schools were placed in this conference per the NCAA when the organization established its Division 1 sports teams. However, the conference designation has evolved away from being athletically elite.

Answer and Explanation:

The eight colleges deemed to be Ivy League colleges, their founding dates, and their locations are as follows:

  1. Brown (1746, Providence, Rhode Island)
  2. Columbia (1754, New York City, New York)
  3. Cornell (1865, Ithaca, New York)
  4. Dartmouth (1769, Hanover, New Hampshire)
  5. Harvard (1636, Cambridge, Massachusetts)
  6. Princeton (1746, Princeton, New Jersey)
  7. University of Pennsylvania (1740, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)
  8. Yale (1702, New Haven, Connecticut)

Ivy League colleges are those deemed to be academically elite schools. Such schools are sought after because of their prestige and academic quality. These schools are private institutions.

Learn more about this topic:

Education in Early America: Birth of Public Schools and Universities


Chapter 6 / Lesson 10

The Education Reform Movement in early America provided a platform that led to the birth of public schools and universities. Explore the lasting impacts of the reform movement on public education in the United States.

Related to this Question

Explore our homework questions and answers library