What are the types of streptococcal hemolysis? Describe


What are the types of streptococcal hemolysis? Describe


Hemolysis means the breakdown of red blood cells. It is a technique used to classify the microorganism that can induce hemolysis when grown on blood agar. The hemolysis technique is mainly used to classify the streptococcal species.

Answer and Explanation: 1

The streptococcal species are classified using the hemolysis technique. There are three types of streptococcal species are alpha, beta, and gamma. The alpha species appear greenish and dark in blood agar. This is caused by streptococcus pneumonia. It is caused by the substance hydrogen peroxide produced by the bacterium that oxide hemoglobin to methemoglobin. The beta hemolysis causes the complete lysis of the red blood cell present in the blood agar. It appears in yellow. This complete lysis is due to the streptolysin enzyme. Gamma hemolysis is different from another two types of hemolysis; it is non-hemolytic and does not cause lysis of red blood cells in the media.

Learn more about this topic:

What Is Hemolysis? - Definition, Causes & Symptoms


Chapter 7 / Lesson 27

Learn about Hemolysis and what causes Hemolysis. Know the mechanisms of Hemolysis. Read the symptoms, diagnostic tests, and treatment of Hemolysis.

Related to this Question

Explore our homework questions and answers library