What is the official language of Samoa?


What is the official language of Samoa?


Samoa is one of many islands located in the south central Pacific Ocean, and Polynesian peoples settled it about 1000 BC. These islands were largely undiscovered until the 1700s. After the discovery, British missionaries arrived and converted the local chief to Christianity, which led to his people following suit (1830). The United States and Germany divided parts of Samoa in the late 1800s (America still controls portions today), and New Zealand would occupy Western Samoa until it obtained independence in 1962.

Answer and Explanation:

Samoa has two official languages: Samoan and English.

The Samoan language is from the Austronesian language family and the Oceanic subfamily....

See full answer below.

Become a Study.com member to unlock this answer! Create your account

View this answer

Learn more about this topic:

Samoa Lesson for Kids: Facts & History
Samoa Lesson for Kids: Facts & History

from Social Studies for Kids

Chapter 20 / Lesson 140

Explore our homework questions and answers library