Which layer of Earth does not contain silicates?


Which layer of Earth does not contain silicates?

Layers of Earth:

There are three principle layers to the rocky portion of the Earth. These are the crust, the mantle, and the core. Above the crust, the outermost layer, we have several layers of the atmosphere. These layers, from the surface of the Earth going out are the troposphere, stratosphere, mesosphere, thermosphere, and exosphere.

Answer and Explanation:

The layer of the Earth that does not contain silicates is the core. Technically, the core is often divided into an inner core and an outer core but...

See full answer below.

Become a Study.com member to unlock this answer! Create your account

View this answer

Learn more about this topic:

Earth's Internal Layers: Crust, Mantle & Core

from Earth Science 101: Earth Science

Chapter 4 / Lesson 4

Related to this Question

Explore our homework questions and answers library