Who was President during the Persian Gulf War?


Who was President during the Persian Gulf War?

Persian Gulf War

The Persian Gulf War began when the army of Iraq invaded and occupied the country of Kuwait in August 1990. It continued until a cease-fire on February 28, 1991.

Answer and Explanation:

The President of the United States during the Persian Gulf War was George H.W. Bush. He was sworn in as President on January 20, 1989, and served through January 20, 1993. Under Bush's leadership, a coalition of U.S. and other forces began an offensive in January 1991 that liberated Kuwait.

Learn more about this topic:

President George H.W. Bush: Foreign Policy

from History 104: US History II

Chapter 12 / Lesson 5

Related to this Question

Explore our homework questions and answer library