Who won the Indo-Pakistani War of 1971?


Who won the Indo-Pakistani War of 1971?

Indo-Pakistani Wars:

The countries of India, who are neighbors in Asia, have been at war four times since 1947. Collectively, these conflicts are known as the 'Indo-Pakistani Wars.' They occurred in 1947, 1965, 1971, and 1999. There have also been numerous other conflicts between India and Pakistan which have not escalated to the point of war, but which have led to damage and casualties.

Answer and Explanation:

Become a member to unlock this answer! Create your account

View this answer

The Indo-Pakistani War of 1971 was won by India. The war lasted 13 days, from December 3 through December 16, 1971. The outcome of this war was the...

See full answer below.

Learn more about this topic:

Causes & Conflicts of the Indo-Pakistani Wars


Chapter 5 / Lesson 2

Pakistan and India have been rivals since their independence from the British Empire in 1947, and have fought wars over the disputed territory of Kashmir in 1947, 1965 and 1999. East Pakistan became the new nation of Bangladesh in 1971. Learn about all of this in this lesson.

Related to this Question

Explore our homework questions and answers library