Why are there three branches of government?


Why are there three branches of government?

Virginia Plan:

In 1787, James Madison's Virginia Plan became the blueprint for the Constitutional Convention in Philadelphia. The delegates assembled established the structure of the U.S. government that has remained in force since 1789.

Answer and Explanation:

Become a member to unlock this answer! Create your account

View this answer

There are three branches of government to push compromise and prevent tyranny.

Madison suggested separating the powers of government into separate...

See full answer below.

Learn more about this topic:

The Virginia Plan: Description & Facts


Chapter 4 / Lesson 13

In 1787, Edmund Randolph presented the Virginia Plan, which proposed a new form of government and called for the number of votes that each state received in Congress to be based on population, to the Constitutional Convention. Learn about the Virginia Plan (facts & description), the purpose and structure of the plan, supporters of the Virginia Plan, and voting results among each state.

Related to this Question

Explore our homework questions and answers library