Authors Similar to Chuck Palahniuk

Instructor: Clio Stearns

Clio has taught education courses at the college level and has a Ph.D. in curriculum and instruction.

Chuck Palahniuk is a successful and popular writer whose books often deal with intense personal experiences. This lesson offers some names of other authors who are similar to Palahniuk in themes and style.

Looking For Similar Authors

Are you or your students major fans of Chuck Palahniuk's writing? If so, it's no wonder. Palahniuk is a prolific novelist whose text Fight Club was popularly cinematized, bringing substantially more attention to his work. Readers who enjoy Palahniuk's writing are often draw to his transgressive themes, his willingness to draw on intense personal experiences, and his unique way of combining horror and humor.

If your students love Palahniuk's literature, you might want to find other authors whose work is similar, to keep your students reading. Obviously no two authors are exactly alike, but the names in this lesson will give your students plenty of inspiration as readers!

Authors and Explanations

Each author is described briefly, and followed by an explanation of how their writing is similar to Palahniuk's.

Don DeLillo

DeLillo is often considered one of the major influences on Palahniuk's work. A prolific writer who specializes in novels with an almost epic formulation, DeLillo draws on dark and tragic themes like those Palahniuk deals with. He also creates complex and nuanced characters and very intricate plots. DeLillo's novels are slightly less infused with horror than some of Palahniuk's.

Monica Drake

Drake is a writer of Clown Girl and many published short stories as well. Her novels, like Palahniuk's, strive to normalize some of the horrible things that people can do to each other. Her writing also raises questions about pettiness in juxtaposition to major problems. Also similarly to Palahniuk, Drake incorporates subtle literary allusions into compelling and complex plots.

Jim Carroll

Carroll's works will appeal to readers who are most drawn to Palahniuk for his willingness to be vulnerable and incorporate difficult personal experiences into his writing. Best known for the work The Basketball Diaries,, Caroll is an author as well as an autobiographer and musician. His works are rife with vivid imagery, like Palahniuk's, and easily cinematized. He is a good author to read if you are interested in fast-paced yet meaningful plot.

Cormac McCarthy

McCarthy's most famous work is probably The Road, and his writing is mysterious and tonally dark in a way that is quite reminiscent of Palahniuk. At the same time, his works have more implicit meaning and might be a segue from Palahniuk to less narrative, more abstract styles of writing. Like Palahniuk, McCarthy has written prolifically and diversely, and readers who enjoy his works will have plenty to keep them busy.

To unlock this lesson you must be a Study.com Member.
Create your account

Register to view this lesson

Are you a student or a teacher?

Unlock Your Education

See for yourself why 30 million people use Study.com

Become a Study.com member and start learning now.
Become a Member  Back
What teachers are saying about Study.com
Try it risk-free for 30 days

Earning College Credit

Did you know… We have over 200 college courses that prepare you to earn credit by exam that is accepted by over 1,500 colleges and universities. You can test out of the first two years of college and save thousands off your degree. Anyone can earn credit-by-exam regardless of age or education level.

To learn more, visit our Earning Credit Page

Transferring credit to the school of your choice

Not sure what college you want to attend yet? Study.com has thousands of articles about every imaginable degree, area of study and career path that can help you find the school that's right for you.

Create an account to start this course today
Try it risk-free for 30 days!
Create an account
Support