Birds of Prey Facts: Lesson for Kids

Instructor: Dina Albert
The small birds you might see chirping and hopping near your home are sweet, but there are birds that look fierce and put fear into their prey. In this lesson you will learn about the types of birds know as birds of prey, and their habitats.

Characteristics and Types of Birds of Prey

Birds of prey are predators, animals that hunt other animals such as mice, other rodents, and insects. They are also known as raptors, a term that comes from the Latin word 'rapere' which means 'to capture'. These birds have very strong eyesight, which allows them to see their prey clearly and from a distance. They have sharp claws, also called talons, that help them scoop up their prey as they swoop down. Last but not least, their curved beaks allow them to hook into their prey to clean the animal before they eat it.

Hundreds of birds fall into the category of bird of prey, and many can fall into multiple categories. To keep this lesson a little simpler, we'll focus on six major kinds of birds of prey: owls, vultures, eagles, hawks, and falcons.


There are about 200 species of owls which include the screech owl, great horned owl, barn owl and snowy owl. Most owls live in the forests, deserts, and mountains.

Different kinds of owls

Owls usually eat mice, rats, rabbits, and sometimes small birds, while the larger owls also might eat large ducks and skunks. Owls might live about 10 or 15 years in the wild. The size of owls ranges from the elf owl, which weighs 1 oz and is 5 inches long, to the eagle owl, which weighs up to 10 pounds and is about 29 inches with a wingspan of about 7 feet.


Image of a vulture

There are over 30 species of vultures around the world, which live everywhere except Australia (and surrounding islands) and also Antarctica. Vultures are scavengers which means they eat animals that are already dead, rather than hunting live ones. These birds can live up to 30 years, and weigh up to 5 pounds. They grow up to 32 inches in length, with 72 inches in wingspan, and can fly up to 30 miles per hour.


There are 60 different species of eagles. Bald eagles weigh up to 18 pounds and measure up to 38 inches long, while their wingspan is almost 8 feet long.

bald eagle

The golden eagle measures about the same in weight, length and wingspan as the bald eagle. The harpy eagle is smaller than the bald eagle and has feathers that resemble that of an owl. Eagles can rotate their heads 180 degrees (all the way to the back).

To unlock this lesson you must be a Member.
Create your account

Register to view this lesson

Are you a student or a teacher?

Unlock Your Education

See for yourself why 30 million people use

Become a member and start learning now.
Become a Member  Back
What teachers are saying about
Try it risk-free for 30 days

Earning College Credit

Did you know… We have over 200 college courses that prepare you to earn credit by exam that is accepted by over 1,500 colleges and universities. You can test out of the first two years of college and save thousands off your degree. Anyone can earn credit-by-exam regardless of age or education level.

To learn more, visit our Earning Credit Page

Transferring credit to the school of your choice

Not sure what college you want to attend yet? has thousands of articles about every imaginable degree, area of study and career path that can help you find the school that's right for you.

Create an account to start this course today
Try it risk-free for 30 days!
Create An Account