Books Like The Grapes of Wrath

Instructor: Elisha Madison

Elisha is a writer, editor, and aspiring novelist. She has a Master's degree in Ancient Celtic History & Mythology and another Masters in Museum Studies.

''The Grapes of Wrath'' is a story about the Great Depression and its effect on a family, who is forced to move from Oklahoma to California to find work. This lesson provides a list of books that are similar.

The Grapes of Wrath

The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck was written in 1938 and tells the story of the Joad family. The Joads were forced off their land in Oklahoma and decided to move west when they heard there was work in California. Unfortunately, all they found were migrant camps, meager wages, and conflict. The book is rife with prejudice, greed, and oppression. Steinbeck used real life interviews of people who were migrant workers as the inspiration for the novel, which eventually earned him the Pulitzer Prize.

The following books are sectioned by similarity for ease.

Books About the Great Depression

Kids

Born and Bred in the Great Depression by Jonah Winter - This picture book is meant for younger kids. The story is about the author and how he grew up in Texas during the Great Depression. It focuses on his family and experiences when he was young.

Potato: A Tale From the Great Depression by Kate Lied - Another book for young readers. It tells the story of a family who also struggles to find work, so they travel to Idaho to dig potatoes.

Young Adult

Anna's Fight for Hope by JoAnn Grote - This book is meant for tweens, and follows a girl who saw how her friends were struggling during the Great Depression. This is a fiction book that shows a different perspective on a difficult time.

Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse - This story is set during the Great Depression and is focused on the Oklahoma dustbowl. It is about a young teenager that experiences the poverty and challenges of the Great Depression.

Ella by Ryan Scott - This story is about a young woman during the Great Depression. It portrays the poverty that so many dealt with during those times, as well as abuse she experiences at her family's hands.

A Cup of Dust: A Novel of the Dust Bowl by Susie Finkbeiner - A fictional tale about a young woman who is living in Oklahoma during the depression. It tells the story of how her family reaches out and helps those who have nothing. It also shows how the family becomes closer to each other the more challenges they face.

To unlock this lesson you must be a Study.com Member.
Create your account

Register to view this lesson

Are you a student or a teacher?

Unlock Your Education

See for yourself why 30 million people use Study.com

Become a Study.com member and start learning now.
Become a Member  Back
What teachers are saying about Study.com
Try it risk-free for 30 days

Earning College Credit

Did you know… We have over 200 college courses that prepare you to earn credit by exam that is accepted by over 1,500 colleges and universities. You can test out of the first two years of college and save thousands off your degree. Anyone can earn credit-by-exam regardless of age or education level.

To learn more, visit our Earning Credit Page

Transferring credit to the school of your choice

Not sure what college you want to attend yet? Study.com has thousands of articles about every imaginable degree, area of study and career path that can help you find the school that's right for you.

Create an account to start this course today
Try it risk-free for 30 days!
Create an account
Support