Books Similar to Tuck Everlasting

Instructor: Jason Lineberger

Jason has 20 years of education experience including 14 years of teaching college literature.

''Tuck Everlasting'' has long been a favorite of both teachers and students. This lesson gives several suggestions for books to read either in class or independently that will appeal to those who enjoyed Natalie Babbitt's classic.

Tuck Everlasting

Tuck Everlasting tells the story of a young woman, Winnie, and her dealings with the strange Tuck family. The Tucks discovered a spring of magical water that granted immortality. The novel's blend of conflict, magic, mystery, and love wrapped in a coming of age tale has made it a favorite among late elementary and middle school readers. The book explores themes like friendship, truth, and deceit. One of the major questions the book poses is: What if you could stay young forever? The books listed below, written for a middle grade audience, address similar themes.

The Chronicles of Narnia

This classic series takes the magic found in Tuck Everlasting and blows it to the level of high fantasy. Like Babbitt's book, the main characters are seemingly normal children who discover secrets unknown to most of the adult world. The children in the Narnia series discover a gateway between our world and a land of castles, witches, enchanted weapons and powerful spells. This series, written by C. S. Lewis, addresses issues of morality and explores the difficult choices that come from gaining power. Winnie, from Tuck Everlasting, is faced with a choice between the hardships of normal life and the trials of an eternal one. Similarly, Edmund in Narnia must choose between worldly power and family.

Inkheart

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke captures the feeling of mystery and forbidden knowledge found in Tuck Everlasting. In Inkheart the protagonist, who is close to Winnie's age from Tuck Everlasting, has the power to pull characters from books into the real world. Furthermore, there's magic, a sinister villain, and a protagonist who thinks for herself and isn't willing to let others tell her what to do. Like Winnie, Meggie from Inkheart considers the role of family, the nature of power, and the destructive nature of lies.

Bridge to Terabithia

Tuck Everlasting asks readers to consider whether immortality would be a blessing or a curse. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson also deals with mortality, but in a more direct way, through the death of one of the main characters. This novel also features a headstrong, confident female character and her complex friendship with a boy. This book has a magical kingdom, only it's in the imaginations of the main characters. Bridge to Terabithia is a novel about growing up, the importance of friendship, and the nature of courage. Like Tuck Everlasting, it's a book in which the protagonist must figure out his or her beliefs and decide how to act upon these beliefs in the face of danger.

To unlock this lesson you must be a Study.com Member.
Create your account

Register to view this lesson

Are you a student or a teacher?

Unlock Your Education

See for yourself why 30 million people use Study.com

Become a Study.com member and start learning now.
Become a Member  Back
What teachers are saying about Study.com
Try it risk-free for 30 days

Earning College Credit

Did you know… We have over 200 college courses that prepare you to earn credit by exam that is accepted by over 1,500 colleges and universities. You can test out of the first two years of college and save thousands off your degree. Anyone can earn credit-by-exam regardless of age or education level.

To learn more, visit our Earning Credit Page

Transferring credit to the school of your choice

Not sure what college you want to attend yet? Study.com has thousands of articles about every imaginable degree, area of study and career path that can help you find the school that's right for you.

Create an account to start this course today
Try it risk-free for 30 days!
Create an account
Support