British West Indies: Islands & Location

An error occurred trying to load this video.

Try refreshing the page, or contact customer support.

Coming up next: Cruel and Unusual Punishment Amendment: Definition & Examples

You're on a roll. Keep up the good work!

Take Quiz Watch Next Lesson
Your next lesson will play in 10 seconds
  • 0:00 The British Empire
  • 0:54 Leeward Islands
  • 3:09 Windward Islands
  • 4:42 Other Islands
  • 6:14 Lesson Summary
Add to Add to Add to

Want to watch this again later?

Log in or sign up to add this lesson to a Custom Course.

Login or Sign up

Lesson Transcript
Instructor: Christopher Sailus

Chris has an M.A. in history and taught university and high school history.

In this lesson, we explore the islands that made up the British West Indies. A term referring to any island controlled by the British Empire during the colonial period, these islands are interspersed throughout the Caribbean.

The British Empire

Momentous events in history have a funny way of shaping modern day situations in ways most people do not realize. For example, the reason many of the islands in the Caribbean speak English as their first language is because so many of these tiny islands (used largely as vacation spots today) were once territories of the mighty British Empire.

The seventeenth-century rush for land in the 'New World' by European powers, like France, Spain, and Great Britain, was not solely for resources on the continent. These same powers fought over the Caribbean islands, which apart from their own resources were useful as ports and resupplying stops for ships bound for Europe. Great Britain held on to many of these smaller islands for centuries, governing many well into the twentieth century. As a result, these islands came to be known, as they still are today, as the British West Indies.

Map of the Caribbean, including the British West Indies
Map of the Caribbean, including the British West Indies

Leeward Islands

The British Leeward Islands were a colony formulated in the early nineteenth century to govern the more northern and western of the islands under British control. Though the grouping changed slightly during its century and a half of existence, it is still a term used today to describe Caribbean regions. The following is a list of the island nations or territories that once made up the Leeward Islands.

Antigua and Barbuda- Antigua and Barbuda were Spanish colonies as early as the fifteenth century, but in 1632 a group of English colonists landed on Antigua and began developing the island's sugar crop. The islands were grouped into the British Leeward Islands colony from the early nineteenth century until the two islands gained their independence from Great Britain, in 1981.

The British Virgin Islands - The British Virgin Islands have been governed by Britain since 1672 when the British captured the island chain from Dutch settlers. Today, it is still ruled by Great Britain as an overseas territory and in 2002 its denizens were granted full British citizenship.

Anguilla -English settlers landed and claimed Anguilla for the crown in 1650. Today it is recognized as a self-governing overseas territory of Great Britain. In the seventeenth century, the English colonists practiced extensive agriculture on the island, and was one of the first Caribbean islands where slavery existed.

Dominica- Dominica was first a French colony before becoming a British colony in 1763 as part of the Treaty of Paris that ended the Seven Years' War. Dominica went on to become the first British colony with an African-majority parliament in 1838, and in 1978 was granted full independence from Great Britain.

Montserrat- Montserrat was claimed by English colonists in 1632 and is still a British overseas territory today.

St. Kitts and Nevis- were fought over between the French and British throughout the seventeenth century, before finally being won by the British in 1713. The two islands won full independence from the British crown in 1983. Nevis was a hub of the international slave trade throughout the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.

Windward Islands

The British Windward Islands was a governing body created in the early nineteenth century to administer government to the southern and easternmost Caribbean islands under British control.

Barbados - Barbados was first claimed by English settlers in 1627. Tobacco and cotton were cultivated by the English settlers on the island for centuries until the island gained full independence in 1966.

Grenada - Grenada was originally a French colony, but was given to the British in 1763. Nutmeg was originally planted on the island by the British, and the island has since turned into a relative agricultural powerhouse, supplying forty percent of the world's nutmeg. Grenada was granted independence in 1974.

To unlock this lesson you must be a Member.
Create your account

Register for a free trial

Are you a student or a teacher?

Unlock Your Education

See for yourself why 30 million people use

Become a member and start learning now.
Become a Member  Back
What teachers are saying about
Free 5-day trial

Earning College Credit

Did you know… We have over 160 college courses that prepare you to earn credit by exam that is accepted by over 1,500 colleges and universities. You can test out of the first two years of college and save thousands off your degree. Anyone can earn credit-by-exam regardless of age or education level.

To learn more, visit our Earning Credit Page

Transferring credit to the school of your choice

Not sure what college you want to attend yet? has thousands of articles about every imaginable degree, area of study and career path that can help you find the school that's right for you.

Create an account to start this course today
Try it free for 5 days!
Create an account