Converting 9 pm GMT to EST

Instructor: Deborah Schell

Deborah teaches college Accounting and has a master's degree in Educational Technology.

There are 24 time zones in the world and it's helpful to know the time if you're communicating with someone in another country. In this lesson, you will learn how to convert between GMT and EST.

Converting from GMT to EST

A time zone represents a geographic area where the time is the same. There are 24 time zones in the world. Two examples are GMT and EST. GMT, or Greenwich Mean Time, is the time at the Royal Conservatory in London, England. GMT is five hours ahead of EST, or Eastern Standard Time, which is the time zone used by cities such as New York.

If we are trying to convert from one time zone to another, we will need to consult a reference table to determine the difference between the two. For example, GMT is five hours ahead of EST, so if we're converting from GMT to EST, we will need to subtract five (5) from GMT to convert it to EST. If we are given a time in EST, we will need to add five (5) to it to convert it to GMT.

The formula is:

EST = GMT - 5

Let's use this formula to convert 9 pm GMT to EST.

EST = GMT - 5

= 9 pm - 5

= 4 pm

Solution

Therefore, when it's 9 pm GMT, it is 4 pm EST.

Examples

Let's work through a couple of examples together.

1. If it's 3 am GMT, what time is it in EST?

We know that EST is five hours behind GMT and we can use the following formula:

EST = GMT - 5

= 3 am - 5

= 10 pm

Therefore, when it's 3 am GMT, it's 10 pm EST the night before.

2. Let's try converting the other way. If it's 8 am EST, what time is it in GMT?

We know if we are given a time in EST, we need to add five to convert it to GMT.

GMT = EST + 5

= 8 am + 5

= 1 pm

Therefore, when it's 8 am EST, it is 1 pm GMT.

To unlock this lesson you must be a Study.com Member.
Create your account

Register to view this lesson

Are you a student or a teacher?

Unlock Your Education

See for yourself why 30 million people use Study.com

Become a Study.com member and start learning now.
Become a Member  Back
What teachers are saying about Study.com
Try it risk-free for 30 days

Earning College Credit

Did you know… We have over 160 college courses that prepare you to earn credit by exam that is accepted by over 1,500 colleges and universities. You can test out of the first two years of college and save thousands off your degree. Anyone can earn credit-by-exam regardless of age or education level.

To learn more, visit our Earning Credit Page

Transferring credit to the school of your choice

Not sure what college you want to attend yet? Study.com has thousands of articles about every imaginable degree, area of study and career path that can help you find the school that's right for you.

Create an account to start this course today
Try it risk-free for 30 days!
Create An Account
Support