Dorsal Body Cavity: Definition, Organs & Membranes

Lesson Transcript
Instructor: Adrianne Baron

Adrianne has a master's degree in cancer biology and has taught high school and college biology.

The dorsal cavity of the body is simpler than the ventral, but still detailed. We will discuss the dorsal cavity by looking at the organs, divisions, and membranes that make up this cavity. Updated: 01/18/2020

Dorsal Cavity

Scientists realized a very long time ago that it is easier to study the body if they divide it up in different ways. One way they chose to divide the body is by cavities. There are two main cavities of the body.

If you have already studied the ventral cavity, or front cavity of the body, then you will find studying the dorsal cavity, or back side of the body, much easier and much less involved. Let's follow Margie and Sabrina as they study the dorsal cavity.

Margie starts off discussing the fact that the dorsal cavity is divided up just like the ventral cavity was divided. There are two cavities within the dorsal cavity: the cranial cavity and the spinal cavity, sometimes called the vertebral cavity.

An error occurred trying to load this video.

Try refreshing the page, or contact customer support.

Coming up next: Ventral Body Cavity: Definition, Subdivisions & Organs

You're on a roll. Keep up the good work!

Take Quiz Watch Next Lesson
Your next lesson will play in 10 seconds
  • 0:04 Dorsal Cavity
  • 0:48 Cranial Cavity
  • 2:31 Spinal Cavity
  • 4:03 Membranes
  • 4:36 Lesson Summary
Save Save Save

Want to watch this again later?

Log in or sign up to add this lesson to a Custom Course.

Log in or Sign up

Speed Speed

Cranial Cavity

Sabrina explains that the cranial cavity is the skull cavity that houses the brain. The cranial cavity has four major divisions with a few subdivisions.

The uppermost division of the brain is the cerebrum. This is by far the biggest division of the brain. Margie explains that there are four lobes that make up this division of the brain. The top front of the cerebrum is the frontal lobe, the top middle of the cerebrum is the parietal lobe, the back of the cerebrum is the occipital lobe, and the bottom of the cerebrum is the temporal lobe.

Next, Margie tells Sabrina about the diencephalon, which is the division below the cerebrum. There are two parts to the diencephalon. The upper portion of the diencephalon is the thalamus, and the lower part of the diencephalon is the hypothalamus. Sabrina thinks that is easy to remember since 'hypo-' means under.

Sabrina mentions that the next division is the one that is under the back portion of the cerebrum. That division is called the cerebellum. Margie tells Sabrina that it is probably the easiest one to remember since it is not divided into parts, regions, or anything else.

They go on to the last division, which is the brainstem. The brainstem is the portion that hangs down from the brain. Sabrina tells Margie that she thinks of it the same way as a stem hanging down from a flower. That makes it easier to remember the brainstem's location. The brainstem is divided into three structures. The uppermost structure of the brainstem is the midbrain, the middle structure of the brainstem is the pons, and the bottom structure of the brainstem is the medulla oblongata.

Spinal Cavity

Margie starts on the spinal cavity, which as its name suggests, is the cavity where we find the spinal cord. Sabrina admits that she used to think about the spinal cord as simply being one long organ in the body, but now she is learning that there are divisions to the spinal cord and nerves that stem from the spinal cord.

The spinal cord is divided based on the nerves that come off of the spinal cord and what area of the body they go into. There are four divisions of the spinal cord. The section of the spinal cord with the first eight nerves is called the cervical region. Margie tells Sabrina to just remember that cervical is the medical term for neck and this will help her to remember the location of the cervical region.

The next lower region is the thoracic region, which extends through the next twelve nerves below the cervical nerves. Sabrina chimes in that she can remember that too since she already learned that thoracic means chest. So this is the chest region of the spinal cord.

The section of the spinal cord with the next five nerves below the thoracic region is the lumbar region. Margie remembers that lumbar means lower back, so she knows that this region of the spinal cord is the region located in the lower back area of the body.

To unlock this lesson you must be a Member.
Create your account

Register to view this lesson

Are you a student or a teacher?

Unlock Your Education

See for yourself why 30 million people use

Become a member and start learning now.
Become a Member  Back
What teachers are saying about
Try it now
Create an account to start this course today
Used by over 30 million students worldwide
Create an account