Five Pillars of the Islamic Faith: Overview, the Quran & Sharia Law

An error occurred trying to load this video.

Try refreshing the page, or contact customer support.

Coming up next: People of the Book: Comparing Judaism, Christianity and Islam

You're on a roll. Keep up the good work!

Take Quiz Watch Next Lesson
Your next lesson will play in 10 seconds
  • 0:00 The Rules of Religion
  • 2:24 The Five Pillars of Islam
  • 5:06 Sharia Law
  • 6:38 Qur'an
  • 8:30 Lesson Summary
Save Save Save

Want to watch this again later?

Log in or sign up to add this lesson to a Custom Course.

Log in or Sign up

Speed Speed

Recommended Lessons and Courses for You

Lesson Transcript
Instructor: Steven Shirley
The Five Pillars of Islam are the foundation of the world's second largest faith. They are characterized by a simplicity that encourages peaceful cooperation between people, which is one reason for the religion's widespread devotion. This lesson will detail each of the five and show how they relate to the daily lives of practicing Muslims.

The Rules of Religion

In all major religions, there are elements of the faith that are seen as requirements, usually found in the canon of the religion and often attributed to the founder, a prophet or God. In Judaism, one will find the Law of Moses, with not only the Ten Commandments but many rules and restrictions laid down in the books of Leviticus and Deuteronomy that serve as a guide to morality, spirituality, and even something as commonplace as dietary restrictions.

In Christianity, they share many of the same requirements as found in Judaism, but expand on the teachings of Moses and adhere to other restrictions introduced through the teachings of Jesus and later added by the apostles and Church leaders over the centuries after the time of Jesus. These include the celebration of certain holidays (such as Christmas and Easter) as well as the tradition of pilgrimage to the Holy Land (modern-day Israel), although some of these traditions are not practiced with the same devotion as they once were.

Pilgrimage, dietary restrictions, and morality codes are also found in Hinduism, one of the largest faiths on Earth. Their rules and regulations are both a mix of tradition and godly advice just as in Judaism and Christianity, and they are found in such texts as the Bhagavad Gita and the Laws of Manu.

Buddhism also shares in the tradition of holy rites, rituals, and restrictions, and depending on the school of Buddhism, a follower can look to the priestly class, or the sangha, or to the teachings of the Buddha directly in the Tripitaka or Dharmapada.

From Judaism to Buddhism, from Hinduism to Christianity, religion and rules go hand-in-hand, and Islam is no exception. As the world's second largest religion, Islam has its own set of rules, regulations, and restrictions, as well as requirements. And like other faiths who have holy texts to guide them in life, so too it is with Islam, where the faithful Muslim is called by God, Allah, to adhere to a set of rules that cover everything from prayers to almsgiving, morality, and pilgrimage. Known as the Five Pillars of Islam, they are outlined in the Muslim holy texts, the Qur'an and the Hadiths, and are among the most concise of all religious guidelines in the world today.

The Five Pillars of Islam

What are the Five Pillars of Islam? The Five Pillars of Islam are the basic framework of the Muslim way of life and serve as a foundation for their faith, their community, and work.

The first, known as Shahada, is a formal declaration of faith where the Muslim professes there is only one God, Allah, and that Mohammed was God's messenger or prophet. The statement is usually recited during the daily prayers and is a key part of a person's formal conversion to the Islamic faith.

The second pillar of Islam is the necessity of prayer five times each day. These five times are: dawn before the sun rises, noon, afternoon, evening, and at night. Muslims must wash themselves before prayer and recite their prayers while facing Mecca. The prayers are meant to remind Muslims of their submission to God's will and also their reliance on God's mercy.

Almsgiving, or charity, to those who need it, is the third pillar of Islam. It is considered to be the personal responsibility of all who have to give to those who have not; to ease economic hardships, inequality, and suffering. If one is wealthy, money can be given; if not, other deeds and actions can take the place of monetary assistance. Like other faiths, Islam looks favorably on those who do good deeds and works within the community.

The fourth pillar is ritual fasting, where the adherent to Islam denies himself food and water during certain times of the year and certain times of the day. The fasting is obligatory during the holy month of Ramadan, where from dawn until dusk, Muslims may not eat food or drink anything. Fasting is meant to focus the mind on matters of spirituality and on Allah, and the pangs of hunger remind one of the true suffering that goes on in the world. The fasts are broken each day when the sun goes down, and obligatory fasting ends after Ramadan is complete.

The final pillar of Islam is the Hajj, or pilgrimage to Mecca. As was the case during the life of Mohammed, Mecca remains the holiest city in the Islamic world, and it is the duty of every devout and able-bodied Muslim to travel to Mecca at least once in their lifetime. The act of pilgrimage is one of supreme devotion and provides the believer with a sense of spiritual satisfaction that few rites can.

Sharia Law

Most of the world's faiths have some sort of religious law from the Torah of Judaism to the Laws of Manu found in Hinduism, and they are practiced to varying degrees among the followers. So too it is with Islam, where the divine law of Allah, known as Sharia, governs all aspects of a Muslim's life and has even become a part of the national law of many Islamic countries including Saudi Arabia, Iran, Syria and Oman, among many others.

To unlock this lesson you must be a Member.
Create your account

Register to view this lesson

Are you a student or a teacher?

Unlock Your Education

See for yourself why 30 million people use

Become a member and start learning now.
Become a Member  Back
What teachers are saying about
Try it risk-free for 30 days

Earning College Credit

Did you know… We have over 200 college courses that prepare you to earn credit by exam that is accepted by over 1,500 colleges and universities. You can test out of the first two years of college and save thousands off your degree. Anyone can earn credit-by-exam regardless of age or education level.

To learn more, visit our Earning Credit Page

Transferring credit to the school of your choice

Not sure what college you want to attend yet? has thousands of articles about every imaginable degree, area of study and career path that can help you find the school that's right for you.

Create an account to start this course today
Try it risk-free for 30 days!
Create an account