Hawk Lesson for Kids

Instructor: Dacia Upkins

Dacia has taught all core elementary subjects for 14 years with a Master's degree in Urban Teacher Leadership.

In this lesson, you will learn what common characteristics all hawks have. You will also learn what makes hawks a very diverse group of birds that vary in size, color, form, and much more!

What Are Hawks?

On the shows The Flash and Legends of Tomorrow, Hawkman and Hawkgirl can be seen flying around saving the planet from super villains. Real hawks, like these two superheroes, are some awesome creatures with lots of cool characteristics. It's no wonder they made these two characters based on such powerful birds!

How Are Hawks Similar?

There are over 250 types of hawks, which all belong to a group called Falconiformes. All Falconiformes are raptors, which are birds of prey. Hawks are very well known for being skilled hunters. In order to be successful at hunting, they have to be very strong and powerful. They use their keen eyesight to spot their prey. In fact, they can see up to 8 times better than we can! Hawks also have hooked beaks and talons, or sharp claws, to grab and eat their prey. Their legs are also very muscular.

Hawks use their sharp talons to capture and tear apart their prey.
hawk talons

Hawks aren't very picky animals, so they eat whatever prey they can find. This may include other birds, rodents, frogs, insects, and more. Whether their prey is on the ground or in the air, hawks are most likely to catch their prey because they can dive at up to 150 miles per hour in the air. That's faster than any car you see going down the highway!

They may not hold hands and look lovingly into each other's eyes, but hawks are monogomous animals, meaning that hawk couples stay together and mate for a lifetime. Male hawks attract their mates by doing this amazing acrobatic dance in the air. Hawks live an average of 13 to 20 years and only find another mate if theirs dies.

Hawks are monogmous, staying with the same mate for a lifetime.
Hawk mates

How Are Hawks Different?

Although all types of hawks have some similar body parts, they can look very different. They can range in size from 4 ounces (the size of a piece of chicken) to 5 pounds (the size of a very small dog). They can range in lengths up to 55 inches.

Hawks can vary in weight from 4 ounces to 5 pounds.

To unlock this lesson you must be a Study.com Member.
Create your account

Register to view this lesson

Are you a student or a teacher?

Unlock Your Education

See for yourself why 30 million people use Study.com

Become a Study.com member and start learning now.
Become a Member  Back
What teachers are saying about Study.com
Try it risk-free for 30 days

Earning College Credit

Did you know… We have over 200 college courses that prepare you to earn credit by exam that is accepted by over 1,500 colleges and universities. You can test out of the first two years of college and save thousands off your degree. Anyone can earn credit-by-exam regardless of age or education level.

To learn more, visit our Earning Credit Page

Transferring credit to the school of your choice

Not sure what college you want to attend yet? Study.com has thousands of articles about every imaginable degree, area of study and career path that can help you find the school that's right for you.

Create an account to start this course today
Try it risk-free for 30 days!
Create an account