Judaism Facts: Lesson for Kids

Instructor: Kelly Beaty

Kelly has taught fifth grade language arts and adult ESL. She has a master's degree in education and a graduate certificate in TESOL.

There are thousands of different religions practiced in the world today. In this lesson, you will learn about the teachings, traditions, terms, and symbols for the religion known as Judaism.

Many Different Religions

When I was in 5th grade, I attended a private school that taught about a religion that was not my own. The other kids thought I was strange because I did not share their religion.

The truth is, people believe all different things about God. This is the reason there are thousands of religions in the word. It is important to understand different religions because it helps us to understand and respect other people.

Different religions share common beliefs about God and the best way for people to live. In this lesson, we're going to learn about the religion known as Judaism. There are nearly 14,000,000 people who practice this religion in our world today.

Judaism and the Jewish People

Those who practice Judaism are sometimes called Jewish. There is a difference between Judaism and the Jewish people, though. Jewish people have common ancestors, but they do not always follow the teachings of Judaism. However, many Jewish people do practice Judaism.

The Teachings of Judaism

  • There is only one God.
  • Following God's laws is important. These laws tell people how to live in ways that do not hurt themselves or others.
  • Judaism's holy books include 39 books of the Bible (sometimes called the Old Testament) and the Talmud. These books give the laws and traditions of the religion. They also tell stories about famous people from Judaism's history. (Abraham and Moses are two you might have heard about.)
  • Those who follow Judaism believe that God promised the Jewish people the country of Israel. This is why some people call Israel the Holy Land.
  • Judaism has rules about the kinds of food people eat. These foods are called kosher. Foods that are not kosher (shrimp and pork, for example) should not be eaten.

Kosher foods can be found in grocery stores.
kosher foods

  • It is important to take a day of rest every week. This is called the Sabbath, and it begins at sundown on Friday and lasts until sundown on Saturday.

To unlock this lesson you must be a Study.com Member.
Create your account

Register to view this lesson

Are you a student or a teacher?

Unlock Your Education

See for yourself why 30 million people use Study.com

Become a Study.com member and start learning now.
Become a Member  Back

Resources created by teachers for teachers

Over 30,000 video lessons & teaching resources‐all in one place.
Video lessons
Quizzes & Worksheets
Classroom Integration
Lesson Plans

I would definitely recommend Study.com to my colleagues. It’s like a teacher waved a magic wand and did the work for me. I feel like it’s a lifeline.

Jennifer B.
Jennifer B.
Create an account to start this course today
Used by over 30 million students worldwide
Create an account