License Requirements for Alabama Real Estate

Instructor: Tara Schofield

Tara has a PhD in Marketing & Management

Before you get your permanent real estate license, there are several requirements you must meet. Learn what general and educational requirements exist for real estate agents in Alabama.

Becoming a Real Estate Agent in Alabama

You're pursuing an exciting and potentially prosperous career in real estate. You need to have a clear understanding of what it takes to become an agent in Alabama. So what does it take to become a real estate agent?

Well, first, you must be at least 19 years old and a citizen of the United States or have documentation that shows you can work in the United States. You must also prove that you are a high school graduate or equivalent and have no record of felony or a crime that shows a lack of moral behavior. Then you must sign a statement that says you will follow the laws and regulations in Alabama, and commit to be honest and ethical in all of your dealings.

Transfers or Add-ons

You may be transferring your license from another state to Alabama or getting a second license to be an agent there as well. In this case, you must show that you have been an active agent for at least 24 of the last 36 months and your license must not have been revoked in another state for a minimum of two years prior to your application date.

The general requirements are simple and are a solid start to jumping into your career. However, before you can get your license, there are courses you must take.

Education Requirements

Alabama requires you take at least 60 clock hours in pre-licensing training, courses taken before you take the state real estate exam. These courses are specific to your training to help buyers and sellers in a sales transaction.

After the test, you will need to take 30 more hours of training to obtain your license. These courses must be provided by an authorized school or training facility that meet the requirements of the Alabama Real Estate Commission.

Steps to Getting Licensed

Let's imagine you are have completed the 60 hours of pre-licensing courses. Now you have up to six months to successfully complete the state real estate exam. Otherwise, you will need to repeat the course.

After you pass the test, you will be issued a temporary license. Your temporary license is valid for up to one year and allows you time to find a broker and get everything set up to start selling real estate. You must work with a broker who will oversee your transactions and provide you a place to work. You may want to interview several brokers to find a good fit.

There will be a fee imposed when you apply for a temporary license and you will also need to do a state and national criminal history background check, including fingerprint processing.

Before you can get your permanent license, you will need to take 30 additional course hours as outlined by the Alabama Real Estate Commission. You have six months after your temporary licensed is issued to complete the 30 more hours.

To unlock this lesson you must be a Member.
Create your account

Register to view this lesson

Are you a student or a teacher?

Unlock Your Education

See for yourself why 30 million people use

Become a member and start learning now.
Become a Member  Back
What teachers are saying about
Try it risk-free for 30 days

Earning College Credit

Did you know… We have over 200 college courses that prepare you to earn credit by exam that is accepted by over 1,500 colleges and universities. You can test out of the first two years of college and save thousands off your degree. Anyone can earn credit-by-exam regardless of age or education level.

To learn more, visit our Earning Credit Page

Transferring credit to the school of your choice

Not sure what college you want to attend yet? has thousands of articles about every imaginable degree, area of study and career path that can help you find the school that's right for you.

Create an account to start this course today
Try it risk-free for 30 days!
Create an account