Copyright

North Carolina Real Estate License Requirements

Instructor: Ian Lord

Ian is a real estate investor, MBA, former health professions educator, and Air Force veteran.

Since it's illegal to work as a real estate agent in North Carolina without proper licensing let's take a look at the requirements for getting a license and which tasks require a license. We'll also review tasks a person can do without a license.

North Carolina Real Estate Licensing

Dave lives in Raleigh, North Carolina and has decided he would like to transition into a job in real estate. He likes working with people and wants to buy and sell houses as a real estate agent. Since this career is subject to state specific regulations and licensing, he will need to be aware of and comply with North Carolina's rules in order to start working. Let's review with Dave what he needs to do to get licensed in North Carolina, along with what real estate activities he can do in the meantime that don't require a license.

Real Estate Agent Requirements

Real estate licensing is overseen by the North Carolina Real Estate Commission. The first level of real estate license in North Carolina is known as a provisional broker license which allows Dave to work under the supervision of a broker-in-charge. The broker license falls in between these roles and would allow Dave to work independently without supervision.

Dave must meet certain qualifications to get his license. He must be at least 18 years old and be a United States citizen, a non-citizen national, or otherwise legally qualified to work in the US. He must have a Social Security number. Before applying for his license, he must complete a 75-hour course that covers North Carolina real estate law and procedures or a similar course from another state. There are some exceptions for the education requirement such as currently practicing real estate agents from other states moving into North Carolina or people who have significant unlicensed experience like lawyers who specialized in real estate.

Activities for Unlicensed Assistants

North Carolina law requires Dave to get his real estate license before listing, buying, selling, leasing, auctioning properties or even offering to do these things for clients. Without a license, Dave can't even refer a client to another agent if that arrangement involves Dave receiving some sort of kickback or other compensation. Basically, any commission income-generating activities in real estate require state licensing.

To unlock this lesson you must be a Study.com Member.
Create your account

Register to view this lesson

Are you a student or a teacher?

Unlock Your Education

See for yourself why 30 million people use Study.com

Become a Study.com member and start learning now.
Become a Member  Back
What teachers are saying about Study.com
Try it risk-free for 30 days

Earning College Credit

Did you know… We have over 200 college courses that prepare you to earn credit by exam that is accepted by over 1,500 colleges and universities. You can test out of the first two years of college and save thousands off your degree. Anyone can earn credit-by-exam regardless of age or education level.

To learn more, visit our Earning Credit Page

Transferring credit to the school of your choice

Not sure what college you want to attend yet? Study.com has thousands of articles about every imaginable degree, area of study and career path that can help you find the school that's right for you.

Create an account to start this course today
Try it risk-free for 30 days!
Create an account
Support