Outer Planets of the Solar System: Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune

An error occurred trying to load this video.

Try refreshing the page, or contact customer support.

Coming up next: Dwarf Planets of the Solar System: Pluto, Eris, Haumea & Ceres

You're on a roll. Keep up the good work!

Take Quiz Watch Next Lesson
Your next lesson will play in 10 seconds
  • 0:05 Four Giants and a Dwarf
  • 1:53 Jupiter
  • 2:33 Saturn
  • 3:08 Uranus
  • 4:03 Neptune
  • 4:54 Pluto
Save Save Save

Want to watch this again later?

Log in or sign up to add this lesson to a Custom Course.

Log in or Sign up

Speed Speed

Recommended Lessons and Courses for You

Lesson Transcript
Instructor: Amy Meyers

Amy holds a Master of Science. She has taught science at the high school and college levels.

Take a tour of the outer planets of our solar system: Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. Find out what makes each of these gas giants unique and learn about Pluto, a dwarf planet.

Four Giants and a Dwarf

Hello! My name is Star. Welcome to Out of This World Tours! Today's unique tour of the solar system includes breathtaking views of the four outer planets, commonly called gas giants: Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. We'll also visit the dwarf planet, Pluto. So hop on board my ship and come with me for a ride!

It is a bit of a journey to get to our first stop. While we're traveling almost one billion kilometers, depending on where the two planets are in their orbits, let me give you some of the history of this area.

Our solar system consists of eight planets, one sun, one dwarf planet, an asteroid belt, and many moons. The sun is in the middle of our solar system. Next come Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars. These are the small and rocky inner planets known as the terrestrial planets. After Mars, there is an asteroid belt that separates the inner planets from the outer ones. The outer planets are called the jovian planets, meaning huge gas giant. These planets in order are Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. Pluto comes after Neptune, but it is no longer considered a planet. It is now a dwarf planet.

The outer planets are also called the gas giants because of their composition.
Gas Giant Outer Planets

Size is the most obvious difference between the inner and outer planets. The outer planets are huge! Our largest inner planet is Earth, and Earth is only 1/4 the size of the smallest outer planet, Neptune.

The inner planets are rocky, sometimes all the way to their core. Gas giants are made mostly of gas with a non-gaseous core. Scientists haven't been able to discover exactly what exists in the core of a gas giant. They believe it may be solid or made of liquid metal.

Hold on, we're traveling through the asteroid belt now, and the ride gets a bit bumpy. Finally, that's over. Look! Here we are at our first stop - Jupiter.


Jupiter is the first of the outer planets in order. It is also the biggest, with a mass that is more than all the other planets combined. Jupiter is so big that it often changes the trajectory of passing comets and thereby protects the inner planets from being hit by them.

Jupiter spins very fast on its axis, so one day there is short, only 10 Earth hours. But its year is quite long, nearly 12 Earth years.

Look out your window and check out those colorful bands. The pattern of wide and narrow bands you see are made of whirling clouds. Jupiter also has very faint rings and at least 50 moons - probably more! Wow! What a great place to visit.


The next stop on our tour is Saturn. Most people know Saturn for its rings, which are the brightest rings in the solar system. Many people don't know that Saturn is also a windy place, with winds at its equator that get up to 1100 miles per hour! Saturn also boasts 50 moons, including the largest moon in the solar system - Titan. Titan is bigger than the planet Mercury and is so large it has its own atmosphere.

A day on Saturn is 10 hours 39 minutes, and a year lasts 29.4 Earth years.

Alright, enough about this wonderful ringed planet. Off we go to planet number seven!


Uranus looks different than the other planets, as you can see. It is tipped on its side. Scientists aren't sure why it is tilted, but they think it may have been hit by a large object, possibly a planet, a long time ago that caused it to tilt. Another theory is that the gravity of its large moons is pulling it over to its side.

Uranus was discovered only 200 years ago, and it is hard for scientists to study because it is so far from Earth. Scientists do know it has narrow, dark rings, is four times the size of Earth, and has at least 27 moons.

Uranus was possibly hit by a large object, causing it to tip on its side.
Uranus Tipped Planet

A day on Uranus is shorter than an Earth day at 17 hours 14 minutes, and its year lasts nearly a century at 84.3 Earth years.

To unlock this lesson you must be a Study.com Member.
Create your account

Register to view this lesson

Are you a student or a teacher?

Unlock Your Education

See for yourself why 30 million people use Study.com

Become a Study.com member and start learning now.
Become a Member  Back
What teachers are saying about Study.com
Try it risk-free for 30 days

Earning College Credit

Did you know… We have over 200 college courses that prepare you to earn credit by exam that is accepted by over 1,500 colleges and universities. You can test out of the first two years of college and save thousands off your degree. Anyone can earn credit-by-exam regardless of age or education level.

To learn more, visit our Earning Credit Page

Transferring credit to the school of your choice

Not sure what college you want to attend yet? Study.com has thousands of articles about every imaginable degree, area of study and career path that can help you find the school that's right for you.

Create an account to start this course today
Try it risk-free for 30 days!
Create an account