Piaget's Stages of Cognitive Development

An error occurred trying to load this video.

Try refreshing the page, or contact customer support.

Coming up next: Kohlberg's Stages of Moral Development

You're on a roll. Keep up the good work!

Take Quiz Watch Next Lesson
Your next lesson will play in 10 seconds
  • 0:54 Stages of Cognitive…
  • 1:09 Sensorimotor
  • 1:52 Preoperational
  • 2:52 Concrete Operational
  • 3:40 Formal Operational
Add to Add to Add to

Want to watch this again later?

Log in or sign up to add this lesson to a Custom Course.

Login or Sign up

Create an account to start this course today
Try it free for 5 days!
Create An Account

Recommended Lessons and Courses for You

Lesson Transcript
Instructor: Ellie Green

Ellie holds a B.A. with Honors in English from Stanford University. She is pursuing a Ph.D. in English Literature at Princeton University.

How does a child's thinking change as she gets older? When does she learn about object permanence, conservation and abstract reasoning? You'll see that thought processes we take for granted as adults are actually important milestones in a child's cognitive development.

Jean Piaget's Four-Stage Model of Cognitive Development

Janie is six, and she has really curly hair. She's noticed that when she takes a bath and her hair gets wet, it looks longer. She thinks this is really cool; she believes that her hair literally grows when it gets wet and shrinks again upon drying. She asks her mother one day if keeping her hair wet for longer will help it stay long when it dries; her mother laughs and explains to a disappointed Janie that when curly hair gets wet, it straightens out and looks longer. Hair doesn't actually grow when it's wet. Janie has trouble understanding this, because she's at a stage of cognitive development where it's hard for her to imagine that the same volume of a substance--in this case, her hair--can be shaped very differently. Psychologist Jean Piaget did a lot of work to define these stages, developing his 4-stage model of cognitive development. As children move through these stages, they begin to think more and more like adults.

Stage One

The first stage, which lasts until the child is about two years old (0-2), is called the sensorimotor stage. Babies in this stage learn about the world through their senses. Cognitively, a baby's biggest sensorimotor development is a sense of object permanence. Have you ever wondered why young babies enjoy peek-a-boo so much? It's not that fun for adults because we know that when a person covers their face, they're still there. But young babies think that if they can't see something, it has disappeared; so when mom covers her face, the baby thinks it's gone, and when she reappears, she's returned! Once babies develop object permanence, at around eight months, they recognize that their mother doesn't really go anywhere, and aren't quite as interested in peek-a-boo.

During this first stage of cognitive development, babies learn about the world through their senses.

Stage Two

Piaget's second stage spans ages 2-7. He called it the preoperational stage. Piaget uses operational as a loose synonym for logic. Children in the preoperational stage, therefore, are only in the initial stages of using language and applying abstract thought. They are still not very good at reasoning and going through tasks solely in their heads. Children in this stage are also very egocentric and are gradually learning that others think differently than they do. In experiments to test this, a psychologist will let a child watch him open up an empty juice box, fill it with colorful ribbons, and then seal up the box. Then the psychologist asks what the child's mom will think is in the box. Children at the early end of this stage, around three or four, will say that their mom will know there are ribbons in the box. Only children who are at the later end of this stage will realize that since their mom hasn't seen the psychologist tamper with the juice box, their mom will still think it has juice in it.

This is the second stage of cognitive development.

Stage Three

Piaget called his third stage, which he believe characterized children from 7-11 years old the concrete operational. Children become more capable of thinking logically during these years. They acquire the cognitive skill that Piaget called conservation, which will eventually help Janie understand that her hair does not actually grow longer when it gets wet. Basically, conservation is the understanding that simply changing the outer form of something does not necessarily change its quantity. To use a more concrete example than Janie's hair, after children have acquired conservation they come to understand that a taller, thinner glass can hold the same amount of water as a fatter, shorter one.

In the third stage, children become more capable of logical thinking.
concrete operational

To unlock this lesson you must be a Study.com Member.
Create your account

Register for a free trial

Are you a student or a teacher?
I am a teacher

Unlock Your Education

See for yourself why 30 million people use Study.com

Become a Study.com member and start learning now.
Become a Member  Back

Earning College Credit

Did you know… We have over 95 college courses that prepare you to earn credit by exam that is accepted by over 2,000 colleges and universities. You can test out of the first two years of college and save thousands off your degree. Anyone can earn credit-by-exam regardless of age or education level.

To learn more, visit our Earning Credit Page

Transferring credit to the school of your choice

Not sure what college you want to attend yet? Study.com has thousands of articles about every imaginable degree, area of study and career path that can help you find the school that's right for you.

Create an account to start this course today
Try it free for 5 days!
Create An Account