The 3 Branches of Government: Executive, Legislative, Judicial

An error occurred trying to load this video.

Try refreshing the page, or contact customer support.

Coming up next: What Is Constitutional Law? - Definition & Example

You're on a roll. Keep up the good work!

Take Quiz Watch Next Lesson
Your next lesson will play in 10 seconds
  • 0:06 Constitutional Convention
  • 0:52 Three Branches of Government
  • 2:03 The Legislative Branch
  • 3:57 The Executive Branch
  • 5:06 The Judicial Branch
  • 6:52 Lesson Summary
Add to Add to Add to

Want to watch this again later?

Log in or sign up to add this lesson to a Custom Course.

Login or Sign up

Create an account to start this course today
Try it free for 5 days!
Create An Account

Recommended Lessons and Courses for You

Lesson Transcript
Instructor: Ashley Dugger

Ashley is an attorney. She has taught and written various introductory law courses.

In 1787, leaders from each of the states gathered to write the United States Constitution. The Constitution sets out how our nation is governed and creates a system that separates powers between different branches. This lesson explores the three branches of our federal government.

Constitutional Convention

In 1787, 11 years after state representatives signed the Declaration of Independence, representatives once again met at the State House in Philadelphia. Fifty-five representatives met over the course of four months in order to draft our United States Constitution. The framers drafted the Constitution to purposely divide governing powers between several administrative branches. This way, no one branch holds too much power, and each branch holds checks and balances over the others. The framers instituted this system of government with hopes that it would last into 'remote futurity.' It worked, as we continue to use this system of government today.

Three Branches of Government

It's helpful to remember that many original colonists came from England during a time of tyranny and dictatorship in that country. In forming a new government, it was of primary importance to divide powers so that no person or group of people held the majority of authority. The state leaders sought to form a powerful, yet fair federal government that protected individual liberties. This is accomplished through the system of checks and balances. This simply means that the governmental powers are divided between separate and independent structures. Each of these structures can check the work of the other structures. In doing so, the power is balanced between all of the structures. Through the first three Articles of the Constitution, the framers divided the new government into three parts. These three parts are known as the three branches of government. They are the legislative branch, the executive branch and the judicial branch. Each branch is independent from the others, but each holds a similar amount of authority.

The Legislative Branch

Article I of the United States Constitution created and empowered our legislative branch of government. The United States Congress leads the legislative branch. Congress includes both the House of Representatives and the Senate. Generally speaking, Congress makes our laws. Laws are discussed, drafted and enacted through Congress. Together, the two houses of Congress have various important powers. Congress passes legislation, approves treaties, originates spending bills, impeaches federal officials, approves presidential nominations and appointments to federal positions, regulates trade and money and declares war.

Our Congress is made up of delegates from each state. The U.S. Senate consists of two senators from each state. These senators serve six-year terms. The U.S. House of Representatives consists of 435 representatives. Each state has at least one representative. A state's population determines the number of representatives per state. For example, Delaware has one representative, while California has 53. Representatives are elected through public election, but only those registered voters who reside in a candidate's district may vote for that candidate. Representatives serve two-year terms.

The U.S. vice president serves as the head of the Senate but doesn't vote unless there is a tie. This is one example of how the executive branch can 'check' congressional powers. But Congress can check the president, too. For example, the Senate must approve presidential nominations to federal posts and must ratify all treaties by a two-thirds vote.

The Executive Branch

Article II of the United States Constitution created and empowered our executive branch of government. The United States president leads the executive branch, which also includes the president's advisors, the 15-member cabinet and all federal agencies. Our president serves as our chief executive, or commander-in-chief.

This branch is responsible for carrying out laws. Among other significant duties, the executive branch enforces and recommends federal laws, proposes a federal budget, directs our foreign policy, commands the Armed Forces and nominates and appoints federal government officials. The president may veto or approve legislation, which serves as a check on Congress' authority. The president may also grant pardons and amnesty, which serves as a check on the judicial branch. The president is elected through a national public election. Presidential elections are held every four years. The president may serve up to two terms of four years each.

To unlock this lesson you must be a Study.com Member.
Create your account

Register for a free trial

Are you a student or a teacher?
I am a teacher

Unlock Your Education

See for yourself why 30 million people use Study.com

Become a Study.com member and start learning now.
Become a Member  Back

Earning College Credit

Did you know… We have over 95 college courses that prepare you to earn credit by exam that is accepted by over 2,000 colleges and universities. You can test out of the first two years of college and save thousands off your degree. Anyone can earn credit-by-exam regardless of age or education level.

To learn more, visit our Earning Credit Page

Transferring credit to the school of your choice

Not sure what college you want to attend yet? Study.com has thousands of articles about every imaginable degree, area of study and career path that can help you find the school that's right for you.

Create an account to start this course today
Try it free for 5 days!
Create An Account