The 9 Regions of the Abdomen

An error occurred trying to load this video.

Try refreshing the page, or contact customer support.

Coming up next: ATP: Definition & Molecules

You're on a roll. Keep up the good work!

Take Quiz Watch Next Lesson
Your next lesson will play in 10 seconds
  • 0:01 Overview of the Abdomen
  • 0:38 Upper Abdomen
  • 1:11 Middle Abdomen
  • 1:37 Lower Abdomen
  • 2:05 Lesson Summary
Save Save Save

Want to watch this again later?

Log in or sign up to add this lesson to a Custom Course.

Log in or Sign up

Speed Speed

Recommended Lessons and Courses for You

Lesson Transcript
Instructor: Brekke Peterson Munks
Did you know that your abdomen has nine regions? Yes, nine! In this lesson you will discover the location of these nine regions and which organs are associated with each region.

Overview of the Abdomen

Have you ever played tic-tac-toe? If you have, you know that it is set up with nine boxes, three across and three down. The nine regions of the abdomen are similar to that. If you were to lie on your back right now and draw two vertical lines splitting your abdomen into thirds, and then draw two horizontal lines splitting your abdomen into thirds again, you would have the locations of the nine regions.

Nine Sections of the Abdomen

Think of the nine regions as the areas that hurt when we do sit-ups. Regions 1-3 comprise the upper abdomen, regions 4-6 are the middle abdomen, and the regions 7-9 make up the lower abdomen.

The Upper Abdomen

Now let's explore the three regions of the upper abdomen.

  • Region 1 is known as the right hypochondriac region. This area is home to organs such as the liver, gallbladder, right kidney, and small intestine.
  • Region 2 is known as the epigastric region. Here, we have the stomach, liver, and the pancreas. The adrenal glands and the first part of the small intestine, the duodenum, are also found in region 2.
  • Region 3 is known as the left hypochondriac region, which contains organs such as the spleen, colon, left kidney, and pancreas.

The Middle Abdomen

Next, we have the middle abdomen.

  • Region 4 is known as the right lumbar region. In this area we have organs or body parts such as the liver, gallbladder, and ascending colon.
  • Region 5 is known as the umbilical region. Think of this as your belly button area. This area is home to the small intestine.
  • Region 6 is known as the left lumbar region, containing body parts such as the descending colon and the left kidney.

The Lower Region

And finally we come to the lower abdomen.

To unlock this lesson you must be a Member.
Create your account

Register to view this lesson

Are you a student or a teacher?

Unlock Your Education

See for yourself why 30 million people use

Become a member and start learning now.
Become a Member  Back
What teachers are saying about
Try it risk-free for 30 days

Earning College Credit

Did you know… We have over 200 college courses that prepare you to earn credit by exam that is accepted by over 1,500 colleges and universities. You can test out of the first two years of college and save thousands off your degree. Anyone can earn credit-by-exam regardless of age or education level.

To learn more, visit our Earning Credit Page

Transferring credit to the school of your choice

Not sure what college you want to attend yet? has thousands of articles about every imaginable degree, area of study and career path that can help you find the school that's right for you.

Create an account to start this course today
Try it risk-free for 30 days!
Create an account