The Five Pillars of Islam: Lesson for Kids

Instructor: Jennifer Lowery

Jennifer has taught elementary levels K-3 and has master's degrees in elementary education and curriculum/instruction and educational leadership.

The Five Pillars of Islam will give you an introduction to the Muslim faith. Learning these obligations will help you understand what Muslims believe and the basic tenants of the religion.

Religion of Islam

To learn about one of the world's major religions, Islam, you will have to travel back in time. Are you ready? Let's revisit a time in history around the year 610, and find out about an important prophet named Muhammad. One night he was visited by an angel, who revealed to him the word of God. These words were written down and became a holy text, called the Qur'an. This was the start of the Islamic religion, which has many traditions and practices. Let's focus on one significant part of Islam, the Five Pillars.

The prophet Muhammad is visited by an angel, and receives the word of God.

Profession of Faith

In order to become a Muslim, a person must complete the first pillar of Islam, called Shahada. This means they make a statement that they believe in one God, called Allah. This statement must also include that they believe that Muhammad was God's prophet. In order for someone to convert to Islam, this statement must be recited three times in front of at least two other people. This shows that the person is sincere in their beliefs, and will spend their life following the rules of Islam.

Daily Prayer

Another pillar of Islam is called Salat, which is daily prayer. Muslims pray five times a day on a specific schedule: at dawn, midday, later in the afternoon, immediately after sunset, and finally in the evening before midnight. Before praying, a Muslim does something called a ritual washing. This is where they carefully wash their hands to symbolize cleansing themselves before praying to Allah. Although prayers can be done anywhere, Muslims often gather in religious buildings called mosques to complete their daily prayers.

Muslims participate in prayer five times each day.


Many people think that giving to the poor is a good thing to do, but it is extremely important to Muslims. In fact, the third pillar of Islam states that a Muslim must give 2.5% of their annual wealth to the needy. This is called Zakat, and it is done for several reasons. Of course, the main purpose is to help those who are less fortunate, but there are also benefits for Muslims too. This gift means they are obeying Allah, and getting rid of greed for money and possessions.

To unlock this lesson you must be a Member.
Create your account

Register to view this lesson

Are you a student or a teacher?

Unlock Your Education

See for yourself why 30 million people use

Become a member and start learning now.
Become a Member  Back
What teachers are saying about
Try it risk-free for 30 days

Earning College Credit

Did you know… We have over 200 college courses that prepare you to earn credit by exam that is accepted by over 1,500 colleges and universities. You can test out of the first two years of college and save thousands off your degree. Anyone can earn credit-by-exam regardless of age or education level.

To learn more, visit our Earning Credit Page

Transferring credit to the school of your choice

Not sure what college you want to attend yet? has thousands of articles about every imaginable degree, area of study and career path that can help you find the school that's right for you.

Create an account to start this course today
Try it risk-free for 30 days!
Create an account