California GED Requirements


Requirements for Eligibility

California only allows residents to take the GED exam. You have many options for providing proof of your residency, including tax returns, bank statements, bills and more.

There are also age requirements for the GED in California. You can complete the exam up to 60 days before your 18th birthday and any time afterwards. If you aren't enrolled in high school, you can also complete the test once you are 60 days from when you would have normally graduated.

Seventeen-year-olds can take the exam if they haven't attended school for at least 60 days. They also need to have a college, university, military branch or employer submit an official request that they complete the test. However, taking the exam early won't allow you to get your equivalency certificate any sooner. Regardless of when you take the test, you diploma won't be sent out until you turn 18.

Requirements to Prepare

While you're not required to enroll in a test-prep program or take a practice test before the exam, individuals who take time to study are more likely to pass the test. You can check out practice questions on the GED Testing Service website. There are in-person GED preparation courses available through some educational institutions as well.

You can also personalize your study time by using an online course. offers a GED Study Guide that can give you the help you need to succeed on this exam. This course includes video lessons that review information found on the language arts, mathematical reasoning, science and social studies sections of the GED. You also have access to self-assessment quizzes that get you used to answering multiple-choice questions similar to those found on the test. You can even contact expert instructors to get extra help with any subjects that you're struggling to understand.

Requirements to Pass

You'll currently need to score at least 150 points on each of the GED subtests in order to pass the exam in California; however, the state is considering approval of GED scoring updates that set the new minimum passing score at 145 points.

You are not required to take all of the subtests on the same day, though you can if you want to. Additionally, you don't have to worry about a time limit on the exam. California allows you to take as much time as you need to finish the test.

Requirements to Receive Your Score

California has partnered with the GED Testing Service and makes use of GED Credentialing to handle your transcripts and diploma. This means you will need to set up an account on the GED Testing Service website ( if you haven't already. After you have completed your test, this account will allow you to see your score and receive your transcript via email if you passed the exam.

You can also request older transcripts through your GED account. For tests taken before 1990, you may be required to identify the testing center where you took the exam in order to submit your request. Some cities in California haven't placed transcripts from before 1990 online. If this is the case for you, you will need to get in touch with the testing center and speak to them directly to receive your records.

Requirements for Retesting

You can retake any of the GED subject tests two times before you'll face a waiting period. There is a 60-day wait to try again if you don't pass any of these attempts. You can, however, complete the exams as many times as you'd like in a single calendar year.

What Does GED Stand For?

GED stands for the General Educational Development tests. These exams are taken by individuals who did not earn a high school diploma and cover four main subject areas. The successful completion of these tests provides the same benefits as graduating high school. Read on to learn more.

GED Scholarship

Need help paying for the GED Exam?

Our GED scholarship could be yours!

Learn more

We help millions of students every month.
Try it risk-free today! No obligation, cancel anytime.