GED Test Retake Policy

What Happens If You Fail the GED Test?

Any individual who fails a GED test can take the test again. If you need to sit for a retake, you must follow your state's retake policy and re-register for your exam.

What Are the Retake Policies?

In many cases, you'll be allowed to retake GED exams without any waiting period between test attempts. That means that you can take your exam again only days after you took it the first time if you choose to do so. It's usually possible to retake the test twice (for a total of 3 testing attempts) without a waiting period.

After your third testing attempt, you will be required to wait 60 days before you can take the test again. This policy applies to the following states:

Alabama Georgia* Michigan* Oklahoma* Utah*
Alaska* Hawaii* Minnesota* Oregon* Vermont*
Arizona* Idaho* Mississippi* Pennsylvania* Wisconsin*
Arkansas* Illinois* New Jersey* Rhode Island* Wyoming*
California* Kansas* New Mexico* South Carolina* Bermuda
Colorado* Kentucky* North Carolina* South Dakota* Virgin Islands
Florida* Massachusetts* Ohio* Texas*
  • In these states, waiting periods also apply to students who switch the language of their test. For example, if they originally took a test in Spanish and then apply to retake it in English, any applicable waiting period still applies.


In Connecticut, students must complete all 4 GED exams before they are eligible to retake any GED test. They are restricted to 3 retake attempts per year, and each retake is subject to a 60-day waiting period.

In Maryland, students are limited to 3 test attempts per year.

Nebraska imposes a 30-day waiting period before retaking a test. If you fail on your third attempt taking a GED exam, then you must wait 60 days to take the test again.

Nevada imposes a 60-day waiting period after a third attempt on a GED test. Students are also required to take all GED tests before they are eligible to retake any test.

A 3-day waiting period applies to students in North Dakota who need to retake a GED exam. This also applies to scheduling their second retake. A 60-day waiting period applies after they fail the test on their third try.

Students in Virginia face a 60-day waiting period after their third attempt taking a test. They also must wait 60 days following any subsequent failed attempt. For example, if they fail on their sixth attempt they must wait another 60 days before they can take the test again. This also applies to students in Washington.

The District of Columbia requires a 30-day wait between your first and second retakes. After that, the 60-day waiting period is enforced.

A 30-day waiting period applies after the first time a student fails a test in American Samoa. If they fail the test a third time, they must wait 60 days before taking the test again. Students must take the complete battery of tests before sitting for any retakes.

Guam's initial waiting period is 10 days after your first test attempt. After failing 3 times, students are required to wait 60 days before taking the test again.

A full 90 days must elapse before you can retake a test in Northern Mariana Islands. There is no waiting period for your third attempt, but if you fail that attempt you are subject to a 60-day waiting period before taking the test for a fourth time.

Are There Any Fees for Retakes?

Your GED test cost includes a $20 GED Testing Service fee. In the event that you need to retake a GED exam, you do not need to pay the $20 Testing Service fee again. This applies to a maximum of 2 retakes. In order to receive these discounts, you must retake the test within 1 year of your original test date.

How Many Times Can You Take A GED Test?

There is no restriction to the number of times you can take a GED test. You are required to follow your state's waiting period guidelines and must pay the full test fee again after taking the test three times. This repeats, so if you take the test a sixth time and are still not satisfied with your score, you will need to pay the full test fee to take the test a seventh time.

How Does the Registration Process Work?

You will have a MyGED account from your initial registration for the GED exams. You can register to retake an exam through this same account. After all test selections have been made, including the test date and location, the test price will be automatically discounted.

Where Can You Find GED Study Resources?

Allowing enough time to adequately review material before taking your test can help ensure that you're prepared to pass your GED exam. There are online study guides and test resources, such as the ones that can be accessed through these links, that can help you thoroughly prepare.

Continue reading: GED Test Accommodations

GED stands for the General Educational Development tests. These exams are taken by individuals who did not earn a high school diploma and cover four main subject areas. The successful completion of these tests provides the same benefits as graduating high school. Read on to learn more.

Take the GED Exam with confidence
Try our test prep resources risk-free today and achieve the test score you want

GED Scholarship

Need help paying for the GED Exam?

Our GED scholarship could be yours!

Learn more