Utah GED Test Information


Taking GED Tests in Utah

Many states have comparable policies and procedures in place for individuals taking the GED tests. All states offer the same 4 tests covering math, science, social studies and reasoning through language arts. The test lengths are also the same. However, some states charge different test fees and have specific retake policies and have other guidelines that govern who can take the GED exams. If you're planning to earn your GED in Utah, it is important to be familiar with the state's GED policies.

Age Requirements

While the standard expectation is that GED applicants will be at least 16 years old, Utah requires individuals who are 16-18 to meet additional requirements before they can take the GED.

Applicants 16-18 years old can pursue the GED exams if they've withdrawn from high school and formally applied to take the GED exams.

Sixteen-year-old applicants can only take the tests if they have also completed an adult education program that's approved by the state of Utah. Documentation is required to demonstrate that they have completed this type of program and are ready to take the test.

Class Requirements

The only individuals who are required to complete a preparation program are applicants who are 16 years of age.

Residency Requirements

There are no residency requirements to take GED exams in Utah. This means that if you're moving to a different state while pursuing your GED, you would still be able to take your GED exams in Utah.

Test Fees

The cost per test in Utah is $30. This means that the base cost of earning a GED is $120 for the 4 required tests.

Retake Policy

It is possible to retake tests if you do not achieve a score you are satisfied with. You can retake any test immediately. After your second retake you must wait 60 days before you can take a test again.

The cost of your first retake on a test is $10. The second time you retake the same test the cost is also $10. You must pay the full $30 fee again if you need to retake the test a third time.

Test Outcomes

There are three scoring ranges for GED tests. To earn a GED, you must earn a passing score of at least 145 points on each of the 4 exams.

Scoring at least 165 on the tests will earn you the GED College Ready designation. The GED College Ready + Credit designation is given if you earn a score of 175 or more on your GED exams.

Studying for GED Tests

Before scheduling your GED tests, it is a good idea to schedule study time and take advantage of any test preparation resources that can help you. Using practice tests can ensure you are familiar with the types of questions you will be asked. It's also important to make sure that you've reviewed the type of information your exams will cover. Test preparation resources are available through the links listed here.

GED stands for the General Educational Development tests. These exams are taken by individuals who did not earn a high school diploma and cover four main subject areas. The successful completion of these tests provides the same benefits as graduating high school. Read on to learn more.

Take the GED Exam with confidence
Try our test prep resources risk-free today and achieve the test score you want

GED Scholarship

Need help paying for the GED Exam?

Our GED scholarship could be yours!

Learn more