What are GACE Passing Scores?

GACE Passing Standards

GACE assessments are scored on a Pass/No Pass basis. Passing scores for GACE tests are different from one exam to the next. Some tests award scores on a scale of 1 to 5, while others use a scaled system that awards scores of more than 250. In addition, select exams feature a tiered passing score, meaning that the test has two different standards for two unique certification levels.

For tests that consist of multiple subtests, candidates will need to pass all sections of a test in order to satisfy certification requirements.

Scaling System

In order to account for the discrepancies in test length and difficulty, GACE administrators use a scaled scoring system. This system converts a candidate's raw score (the exact number of questions answered correctly) into a composite number that can easily be compared to other versions of the same subtest.

Assessment of Sign Communication-American Sign Language (ASC-ASL)

The ASC-ASL scaling system awards scores ranging from Level 1 to 5, with 5 being the top score. In order to pass this exam, candidates must reach at least Level 3.

GACE Content Assessments

The content assessments in the GACE series employ the tiered structure. Students can earn one of two passing scores. Scores between 220-249 will result in passing at the induction level, while candidates who score 250 or more will pass at the professional level.

Both the induction and professional levels satisfy certification requirements. However, candidates who pass one test at the professional level but pass the other at the induction level will have their entire exam listed as passing at the induction level. Should this happen, you may retake the subtest that you passed at the induction level in an effort to improve your score and pass the entire exam at the professional level.

Educational Leadership, Paraprofessional & Program Admission

Like the Certificate Upgrade Assessments, the Educational Leadership and Paraprofessional and Program Admission exams have a single passing score. Candidates must score at least 250 to pass these assessments.

Certificate Upgrade Assessments (Curriculum and Instruction, Instructional Technology)

This exam does not feature a tiered system and instead includes a single passing score. Candidates will need to score at least 250 to earn a passing score on this test.

GACE Score Reports

GACE score reports are extremely detailed and include much more than just your scaled score. You can expect to find the following information in your report:

  • Your scaled score
  • Status (Pass/No Pass) for each subtest
  • Status (Pass/No Pass) for the overall assessment
  • Number of scored questions
  • Raw score (number of correct answers)
  • Number of scored questions in each subarea (if your test included subareas)
  • Number of questions answered correctly in each subarea

Studying for the GACE Series

If you want to improve your GACE scores and ensure that you pass, you'll need to study diligently. Study.com has a number of engaging study guide courses that can help you get ready. These review guides contain interactive quizzes and video lessons. Check out our GACE Course Directory to get started. Our courses cover all three Program Admission subtests, as well as various Content Assessments, such as biology, language arts, history, school psychology, marketing, school counseling, and a lot more.

Get yourself ready to become a certified teacher or education professional in Georgia public schools. Learn about Georgia teacher certification tests, known as GACE exams, administered by the GaPSC, including GACE Program Admission, Content Exams, Ethics Assessments and more.

Take the GACE Exam with confidence
Try our test prep resources risk-free today and achieve the test score you want

GACE Scholarship

Need help paying for the GACE Exam?

Our GACE scholarship could be yours!

Learn more