What is the TASC Test?


All About the TASC

The TASC was introduced in 2014 by Data Recognition Corporation as an updated alternative to other high school equivalency tests, such as the GED. It recognizes that educational standards and methods have changed over the years, and that a high school equivalency exam should be an assessment of the same challenges faced by today's graduating seniors.

Like other equivalency tests, passing the TASC is considered equivalent to earning a high school diploma. Doing so can help you get into college or find a better job. Currently, the TASC is offered on a state-by-state basis; Data Recognition Corporation helps each state develop its own version of the TASC so that the test is an accurate assessment of state standards.

As of 2018, the TASC is offered in:

  • California
  • Colorado
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Texas
  • West Virginia

What's Covered on the TASC

The TASC consists of five subtests, which each one covering updated content and skills expectations in a specific subject area. Note that you may take and retake each subtest individually, but you must eventually pass all five to earn a high school equivalency diploma.

Subtest Content Covered
Mathematics Numbers and Quantities, Algebra, Functions, Statistics and Probability, Geometry
Science Life Science, Physical Science, Earth Science, Space Science
Reading Foundational Texts, Literature, Informational Texts (such as biographies, essays and speeches, articles, interviews, op-ed pieces and more)
Writing Grammar, Mechanics, Usage, Essay Writing
Social Studies History, Government, Civics, Economics, Geography

For a more detailed and structured review of the content you'll encounter in each subject, check out Study.com's TASC practice and prep courses:

Taking the TASC

Although age, residency and education requirements vary by state, you'll generally take the TASC at any state-approved testing center once you become eligible. You can look up specific policies for your state and find a testing center near you on the official TASC website (tasctest.com).

The TASC may be taken online or on paper. Some testing centers only offer one test version, while others may allow you to choose which version you'd like to take.

Although it's designed to be more affordable than other high school equivalency tests, you will have to pay a fee to take the TASC. These fees also vary by state, but you will usually have the option to pay for one subtest at a time or all five at once, with discounted retakes.

Alternative Formats: The TASC is available in English and Spanish, with audio, Braille and large print versions also available on request.

Accommodations: If you require special accommodations for a disability, you may fill out a TASC accommodations form; be sure to do this well in advance to allow time for processing and approval.

Scoring the TASC

After finishing your TASC tests, it may take some time to get your scores, though they usually arrive faster if you took the online version. When they become available, you can check your scores online on your TASC account.

To pass the TASC and earn a high school equivalency diploma, you must earn at least 500 points on all five subtests, plus 2 points on the essay section. Note that Distinguished Achievement scores are also available for test takers scoring a 560 or better in Mathematics, a 580 or better in Reading, a 560 or better in Writing and 6 out of 8 points on the Writing essay.

Continue reading: TASC Test Score Information

The TASC (Test Assessing Secondary Completion) is a high school equivalency exam emerging as an alternative to the GED. Learn where you can take the exam and discover some resources that can help you prepare for it.

Take the TASC Exam with confidence
Try our test prep resources risk-free today and achieve the test score you want