Books Similar to Of Mice and Men

Instructions:

Choose an answer and hit 'next'. You will receive your score and answers at the end.

question 1 of 3

If you're interested in the theme of loneliness as it plays out in Of Mice and Men, but want to read something else, which book should you check out?

Create Your Account To Take This Quiz

As a member, you'll also get unlimited access to over 75,000 lessons in math, English, science, history, and more. Plus, get practice tests, quizzes, and personalized coaching to help you succeed.

Try it risk-free
Try it risk-free for 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Already registered? Log in here for access

1. Which of these books has a similar tone to Of Mice and Men?

2. Which of these books looks at the impossibility of the American Dream, not unlike Of Mice and Men, but set during a time of excess?

Create your account to access this entire worksheet
A Premium account gives you access to all lesson, practice exams, quizzes & worksheets
Access to all video lessons
Quizzes, practice exams & worksheets
Certificate of Completion
Access to instructors
Create an account to get started Create Account

About This Quiz & Worksheet

This quiz/worksheet looks at similarities between Of Mice and Men and various other books. You'll be asked to identify connections in theme, tone, and related elements.

Quiz & Worksheet Goals

Students taking this quiz/worksheet combo will be asked to identify:

  • Books with the theme of loneliness
  • Novels with a tonal similarity to Of Mice and Men
  • Books examining the impossibility of the American dream in a prosperous time
  • The follow-up to Of Mice and Men
  • Novels that critique the American dream

Skills Practiced

  • Making connections - use your understanding of the novels discussed in the lesson to identify their themes and connect them with other books
  • Information recall - access the knowledge you've gained regarding the follow-up to Of Mice and Men
  • Distinguishing differences - compare and contrast novels that possess themes related to the American dream

Additional Learning

To study these literary similarities in more detail, you can check out the corresponding lesson, Books Similar to Of Mice and Men. This lesson delves into the following objectives:

  • Familiarize yourself with the characteristics of Of Mice and Men
  • Describe fatalistic
  • Explore Hemingway's The Old Man and the Sea and connect it to Of Mice and Men
  • Examine the similarity of content between Of Mice and Men and The Good Earth
Support