Erik Erikson's Eight Stages of Psychosocial Development: Conflicts & Growth


Choose an answer and hit 'next'. You will receive your score and answers at the end.

question 1 of 3

Erikson characterizes development as a series of _____.

Create Your Account To Take This Quiz

As a member, you'll also get unlimited access to over 79,000 lessons in math, English, science, history, and more. Plus, get practice tests, quizzes, and personalized coaching to help you succeed.

Try it risk-free
Try it risk-free for 30 days. Cancel anytime
Already registered? Log in here for access

1. What psychosocial crisis results in either a feeling of confidence or inadequacy?

2. Why is the successful completion of the trust versus mistrust stage important?

Create your account to access this entire worksheet
A Premium account gives you access to all lesson, practice exams, quizzes & worksheets
Access to all video lessons
Quizzes, practice exams & worksheets
Certificate of Completion
Access to instructors
Create an account to get started Create Account

About This Quiz & Worksheet

This quiz/worksheet combo will help you assess your understanding of Erikson's eight stages of psychosocial development. You will be quizzed on the different stages as well as how Erikson characterizes development.

Quiz & Worksheet Goals

The practice questions will ask you about the following:

  • How Erikson describes development
  • Psychosocial crisis that leads to either a sense of self-will or giving up
  • Psychosocial crisis of early childhood
  • Stage in which a person develops relationships with people outside of their family
  • Stage in which children begin to identify strengths and find pleasure in accomplishments

Skills Practiced

  • Critical thinking - apply relevant concepts to examine information about early childhood in a different light
  • Defining key concepts - ensure that you can accurately define the main stages included in Erikson's theory
  • Knowledge application - use your knowledge to identify the stages of psychosocial development that are described in given examples

Additional Learning

More information about this psychosocial theory is included in the accompanying lesson, Erik Erikson's Eight Stages of Psychosocial Development: Conflicts & Growth. The lesson is designed to help you meet these objectives:

  • Discuss Erikson's theory of the stages of psychosocial development
  • Learn about the eight stages of psychosocial development
  • Identify the stages that occur from birth through elementary school
  • Understand the transition that occurs during the middle and high school years
  • Explain the stages that take place during adulthood