Children's Identity Development Theory: Model & Stages


Choose an answer and hit 'next'. You will receive your score and answers at the end.

question 1 of 3

Which of the following best defines Eric Erickson's theory of identity development?

Create Your Account To Take This Quiz

As a member, you'll also get unlimited access to over 79,000 lessons in math, English, science, history, and more. Plus, get practice tests, quizzes, and personalized coaching to help you succeed.

Try it risk-free
Try it risk-free for 30 days. Cancel anytime
Already registered? Log in here for access

1. Which of the following is the developmental stage beginning with infancy?

2. Which of the following best describes the 'autonomy vs shame/doubt' stage of development?

Create your account to access this entire worksheet
A Premium account gives you access to all lesson, practice exams, quizzes & worksheets
Access to all video lessons
Quizzes, practice exams & worksheets
Certificate of Completion
Access to instructors
Create an account to get started Create Account

About This Quiz & Worksheet

This quiz and corresponding worksheet will help you gauge your understanding of the different stages humans go through in their development and identity. Topics you'll need to know to pass the quiz include understanding Eric Erickson's theory of identity development.

Quiz & Worksheet Goals

Use these assessment tools to assess your knowledge of:

  • The idea behind Eric Erickson's theory of identity development
  • The first stage of development in infancy
  • What happens in the autonomy vs. shame/doubt stage
  • What happens in the initiative versus guilt stage of development

Skills Practiced

This worksheet and quiz will let you practice the following skills:

  • Defining key concepts - ensure that you can accurately define main phrases, such as identity development and autonomy
  • Reading comprehension - ensure that you draw the most important information from the related lesson on the stages of children's identity development theory
  • Interpreting information - verify that you can read information regarding the developmental stage beginning in infancy and interpret it correctly
  • Knowledge application - use your knowledge to answer questions about the initiative vs. guilt stage

Additional Learning

To learn more about the importance of each stage of identity development, review the corresponding lesson on the Stages of Children's Identity Development Theory. This lesson covers the following objectives:

  • Define individuation and ego identity
  • Name the Eight Stages for Psychosocial Development created by Eric Erickson
  • Explore what happens in each stage, from infancy to old age