All About the GED: South Dakota

Jun 02, 2020

How to Earn Your GED in South Dakota

If you're looking to further your education or career but did not earn your high school diploma, a General Educational Development (GED) credential may fulfill your needs. The GED is accepted as a high school diploma equivalent by most employers and colleges. Although it was developed by the American Council on Education (ACE) and Pearson Vue, it is overseen by the individual states. In South Dakota, the Department of Labor and Regulation is in charge of GED testing.


In South Dakota, you must be at least age 18 to take the GED exam. You must not have a high school diploma or GED certificate. Practice tests are available, but you are not required to take them in South Dakota. If you are under age 18, you may be eligible to take the GED if you are not currently enrolled in a normal high school program. Additional requirements for those under the age of 18 can be found on the Department of Labor and Regulation's website.

Scoring and Retesting

In order to pass the GED test, you need to score at least 145 on each section of the test and score at least 580 overall on all of the sections. If you fail one or more of the tests, you can retake a section or sections of the test whenever you want. However, if you take a section more than three times, you will have to wait 60 days to retake that section again.


In order to register for the GED, you must create an account on the GED website. Information on testing centers can be found by entering your zip code using the site's locator. On the day of the test, you must bring a bring a government issued identification that shows proof of age and a photo (such as a driver's license) and pay your testing fee. The GED website and your local center will have a testing schedule; it is recommended that you only take two or three tests at a single sitting.

The Structure of the GED

The GED is composed of four individual exams designed to test basic competency. They cover social studies, science, reasoning through language arts and reasoning through mathematics. Most of the exams are multiple-choice, although the math section includes some alternate format questions, and the writing portion includes an essay. The GED exams must be taken in-person; they are not available online.

Why Get Your GED in South Dakota?

Your GED will allow you the opportunity to attain a higher wage that will be more sustainable. According to South Dakota Labor and Regulation, an individual with a high school equivalency diploma earns almost $10,000 more annually than someone without. In addition, attaining your GED will allow you to further your education. About 98 percent of U.S. colleges and universities accept the GED as a part of their application process.

Next: View Schools
Created with Sketch. Link to this page

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.

Find your perfect school

What is your highest level of education?