American Library Association Announces 2010 Winners

Jan 18, 2010

The American Library Association (ALA) today announced the winners of America's top children's and young adult book awards, including the Newbery, Caldecott and Printz.

View Popular Schools

Children reading in an elementary classroom

The Best Youth Literature

Each year, the American Library Association (ALA) recognizes excellence in writing and illustration for children's books and young adult fiction. The Association just announced this year's winners at their midwinter meeting in Boston. Some of its popular awards include:

Rebecca Stead When You Reach Me 2010 Newbery Winner

John Newbery Medal

This coveted award recognizes the year's most outstanding overall contribution to children's literature. The 2010 winner is ''When You Reach Me'' by Rebecca Stead. The news was leaked 17 minutes early by an employee of Random House Kids, the book's publisher, who couldn't wait to make the announcement on their Twitter page. Whoops!

Past Newbery winners include:

Year Book Title Author
2009 The Graveyard Book Neil Gaiman
2008 Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village Laura Amy Schlitz
2007 The Higher Power of Lucky Susan Patron
2006 Criss Cross Lynne Rae Perkins
2005 Kira-Kira Cynthia Kadohata
2004 The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread Kate DiCamillo

Jerry Pinkney The Lion and the Mouse 2010 Caldecott Winner

Randolph Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal is awarded to the year's best illustrated children's book. The 2010 winner is ''The Lion & the Mouse'' by Jerry Pinkney.

Past Caldecott Medal winners include:

Year Book Title Author Illustrator
2009 The House in the Night Susan Marie Swanson Beth Krommes
2008 The Invention of Hugo Cabret Brian Selznick
2007 Flotsam David Wiesner
2006 The Hello, Goodbye Window Norton Juster Chris Raschka
2005 Kitten's First Full Moon Kevin Henkes
2004 The Man Who Walked Between the Towers Mordicai Gerstein

Linda Bray Going Bovine 2010 Printz Winner

Michael L. Printz Award

The Printz Award goes to the year's top book in young adult literature, also known as juvenile fiction. The 2010 Printz winner is ''Going Bovine'' by Libba Bray.

Past Printz Award winners include:

Year Book Title Author
2009 Jellicoe Road Melina Marchetta
2008 The White Darkness Geraldine McCaughrean
2007 American Born Chinese Gene Luen Yang
2006 Looking for Alaska John Green
2005 how i live now Meg Rosoff
2004 The First Part Last Angela Johnson

American Library Association Book Awards

The ALA also recognizes a wide range of talent in many other award categories, including:

  • The Coretta Scott King author and illustrator awards, which go to outstanding African American authors and illustrators in children's literature. A lifetime achievement award is also given in this category.
  • The Pura Belpre author and illustrator awards, which recognize excellence in Latino authors and illustrators of children's books.
  • The Schneider Family Book Award, which goes to a work that elegantly expresses the experiences of disabled children.
  • The William C. Morris Award, which honors excellent young adult books by first-time authors.

To see a complete list of ALA awards and their 2010 winners, visit the ALA website.

Next: View Schools

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.

Find your perfect school

What is your highest level of education?