Credentialing Specialist Certification and Certificate Program Info

Oct 12, 2019

Ensuring that hospitals and other health care facilities comply with government regulations, credentialing specialists are also required to ensure that the professional credentials of medical staff members and physicians are accurate and up-to-date.

Essential Information

Individuals who are interested in this field and don't possess prior medical staff services experience can enroll in an Associate of Science in Medical Staff Services program. Certification from the National Association of Medical Staff Services can then be earned by individuals who have completed at least one year of work experience in a healthcare facility. Degree programs in this field often have general educational requirements in mathematics, humanities and science. Students are typically required to have a high school diploma or GED, have completed the appropriate science, math and humanities courses, as well as hold a strong grade point average (GPA) before they can enroll in the program.

Associate's Degree Programs in Medical Staff Services

Courses cover the basics of regulatory compliance and credentialing. Students also learn the basics in areas such as medical terminology, medical procedures, human anatomy and physiology. Specific courses may include:

  • Medical staff law
  • Government regulations
  • State licensure laws
  • Performance improvement
  • General health professions management

Employment Outlook and Salary Info

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) does not offer data specific for credentialing specialists, but it did report that medical and health services managers were expected to see an increase in jobs of 18% between 2018 and 2028. These professionals earned a median salary of $99,730 in May 2018.

Professional Certification

The National Association of Medical Staff Services (NAMSS) only certifies credentialing specialists who have at least one year's worth of professional experience in a hospital or healthcare facility. Several types of professionals can apply for credentialing specialist certification, including nurses and medical assistants. According to NAMSS, 27 percent of credentialing specialists who have earned certification received a salary increase as a direct result of professional accreditation.

Specialists earn the Certified Provider Credentialing Specialist (CPCS) designation by completing a skills evaluation examination. NAMSS also offers training courses and practice examinations for those interested in taking the certification exam (

Aspiring credentialing specialists can pursue an associate's degree program in medical staff services to learn the skills necessary to work professionally in the industry. Graduates are encouraged to seek professional certifications in medical staff services and/or as credentialing specialists in order to increase salary potential and job opportunities.

Next: View Schools

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.

Find your perfect school

What is your highest level of education?