Earning Your Alaska High School Diploma!

A high school diploma has long been the foundation of a successful career, a college education or both. The state of Alaska offers students several different ways to earn this valuable credential.

View popular schools

High School Graduation Requirements in Alaska

In Alaska, high school students must earn at least 21 credits to graduate. The State Board of Education & Early Development requires students to earn four credits in language arts, two credits in science, two in math and one credit in health/physical education. Graduates must also have three credits in social studies, including one-half credit in Alaska history which students can earn by demonstrating mastery of the state standards.

In addition to earning the required number of credits, students must also take one of three standardized tests. Student have the option to take the ACT Test or the SAT, both of which assess college readiness, or the Workkeys job and career skills assessment test. There is no minimum score requirement for any of the assessments.

iGrad Alaska

Up to age 19, and in some instances age 20, students can also earn a high school diploma through iGrad Alaska, a free distance-learning program. Students have individualized learning plans, and course work and tests are completed online with the support of teachers. Once students complete their iGrad Alaska course and credit requirements, they are awarded a diploma through the Galena City School District, which is part of Alaska's public school system.

Find schools that offer these popular programs

  • Agriculture
  • Architecture
  • Biological and Biomedical Sciences
  • Business
  • Communications and Journalism
  • Computer Sciences
  • Culinary Arts and Personal Services
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Legal
  • Liberal Arts and Humanities
  • Mechanic and Repair Technologies
  • Medical and Health Professions
  • Physical Sciences
  • Psychology
  • Transportation and Distribution
  • Visual and Performing Arts

Earning a GED Credential

Alaska also awards the State of Alaska High School Diploma By Examination to all those who successfully complete the General Education Development or GED exam. Although Alaska requires GED candidates to be 18, exceptions are made for 16-17-year-old test takers who provide a withdrawal slip from the last high school they attended, a legal emancipation document or written consent from a parent or guardian.

The GED is a seven-and-a-half-hour exam with four separate test sections on language arts, mathematics, science and social studies. The tests are taken on computer, and are available in English and Spanish. The GED tests must be taken in person at a GED testing center. A database of testing sites is available on the GED website, GED.com. The GED can be taken all in one day, or the following test sections can be taken individually, in any order:

  • Reasoning through Language Arts - This 150-minute test assesses reading and writing skills. Test takers analyze and interpret reading selections and revise sentences and passages using clear and effective language. The test includes a 45-minute essay.
  • Mathematical Reasoning - Problem-solving skills are the main focus of this 115-minute test that includes real-life scenarios involving percents, proportion and averages. Questions also cover problems in algebra and geometry. Calculators can be used for most of the questions on the test.
  • Science - The 90-minute Science section of the GED evaluates the test taker's ability to understand and interpret scientific and technical information. Questions cover life sciences, physical science and Earth and space science.
  • Social Studies - The Social Studies test, which is also 90 minutes, covers U.S. history, government, geography and economics. Questions measure the ability to understand and analyze information from texts, maps, charts, graphs and illustrations.

To pass the GED, a minimum score of 150 is required on each of the four test sections. GED candidates who score below 150 on any of the four sections can retest twice with no waiting period. Anyone who needs to take a third retest must wait 60 days. There is no limit on the number of times a test can be taken in any given year.

Next: View Schools

What is your highest level of education?

Some College
Complete your degree or find the graduate program that's right for you.
High School Diploma
Explore schools that offer bachelor and associate degrees.
Still in High School
Earn your diploma of GED. Plan your undergraduate education.

Schools you may like:

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.

Find your perfect school

What is your highest level of education?