Introducing the 2011 Youth Media Awards Winners

The American Library Association has announced the winners of the 2011 youth media awards. These include the Newberry, Caldecott, Printz and Coretta Scott King prizes, as well as awards for outstanding children's illustration, videos and audiobooks.

By Megan Driscoll


The Best of Children's Media

The annual youth literature awards from the American Library Association (ALA) have long been the most prestigious awards in children's books and illustration - the John Newberry Medal, first awarded in 1922, is the oldest children's book award in the world. In the 1990s the ALA also began recognizing excellence in children's video, and 2008 saw the addition of an award for outstanding producers of children's audiobooks.

Last week the ALA announced the 2011 winners of all of their awards, collectively known as the youth media awards. Highlights include:

moon over manifest

John Newberry Medal

The 2011 Newberry Medal for the 'most outstanding contribution to children's literature' went to Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool.

a sick day for amos mcgee

Randolph Caldecott Medal

The 2011 Caldecott Medal for the 'most distinguished picture book for children' went to A Sick Day for Amos McGee, illustrated by Erin E. Stead and written by Philip C. Stead.

one crazy summer

Coretta Scott King Book Awards

There are five Coretta Scott King Book Awards, which all recognize excellence from African American authors and illustrators. The main 2011 author award went to One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia. The 2011 illustrator award went to Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave, illustrated by Bryan Collier and written by Laban Carrick Hill. The 2011 new talent author award went to Zora and Me by Victoria Bond and T. R. Simon, and the 2011 new talent illustrator award went to Seeds of Change, illustrated by Sonia Lynn Sadler and written by Jen Cullerton Johnson. Finally, the 2011 Coretta Scott King - Virginia Hamilton Practitioner Award for Lifetime Achievement went to Dr. Henrietta Mays Smith.

the curious garden

Andrew Carnegie Medal

The 2011 Carnegie Medal, which recognizes 'excellence in children's video,' went to Melissa Reilly Ellard and Paul R. Gagne of Weston Woods, producers of 'The Curious Garden.'

the true meaning of smekday

Odyssey Award

The 2011 Odyssey award for 'best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults' went to The True Meaning of Smekday, produced by Listening Library.

To see the rest of the 2011 youth media award winners, visit the American Library Association website.

Next: View Schools

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.

Find your perfect school

What is your highest level of education?