How do I get a Lean Manufacturing certification?


How do I get a Lean Manufacturing certification?

Perfect School Search


Lean Manufacturing certification is earned through a combination of assessments, education coursework and real world application of skills over a period of up to three years. According to a leading expert in the field (SME), there are three levels of certification in Lean Manufacturing: bronze, silver, and gold. Bronze Certification starts with a skills assessment of basic knowledge, study of core reference materials, and then an exam of foundational knowledge. Once you pass the exam, you have three years to complete and submit a portfolio demonstrating your ability to understand and apply Lean Manufacturing skills in the workplace. Your portfolio of work is created throughout a process which includes 80 hours of education and training, the completion of three projects applying relevant skills, and a short essay summarizing your experience and learning. Once the portfolio is submitted and approved, you earn your official Bronze Certification. Certification lasts for three years and you can choose to be recertified once it expires, or move up a level.

The process can be completed online, and Bronze Certification costs around $450-$600.

For more information about programs for efficiency systems in manufacturing, check out this article: Six Sigma Definition

Next: View Schools

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.