What are the different types of project management (PMP) certifications?


What are the different types of project management (PMP) certifications?

Perfect School Search


The Project Management Institute (PMI) offers several different management credentials that include:

  • Project Management Professional (PMP)
  • Program Management Professional (PgMP)
  • Portfolio Management Professional (PfMP)
  • Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)
  • PMI Professional in Business Analysis (PMI-PBA)
  • Discipline Agile (with several sub certifications)
  • PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP)
  • PMI Risk Management Professional (PMI-RMP)
  • PMI Scheduling Professional (PMI-SP)

More specifics for each of these certifications can be found on the PMI website, including information that can help determine which certification is best for you. Regardless of which certification is appropriate, all of these credentials require specific prerequisites and successful completion of the corresponding exam. Typically, a combination of education and work experience is required to be eligible to take the exam, with less work experience being required for candidates with a higher education level. Tests can be taken online or in person and the PMI website offers study help and tips in preparing for the exams.

For more information about working as a Project Manager, check out this article: Project Manager Career Ladder.

Next: View Schools

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.