Do you have a strong dance background and love to help others to learn? Thanks to the strength of arts programs in Connecticut's public school system, you may consider bringing your passions to center stage as a dance teacher. Here, we explore the steps needed to become a certified dance teacher in public schools in the state of Connecticut.
Connecticut Dance Teacher Certification Requirements
|Average Salary for Teachers in Connecticut (2016)*|| $76,740 (Elementary Teachers, except for Special Education); $77,250 (Middle School Teachers, Except Special & Career/Technical Education)
$76,260 (Secondary School Teachers, Except Special & Career/Technical Education)
|Required Degree||Bachelor's or higher|
|Testing Requirements||Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators (Math, Reading, and Writing Exams)|
Source: *U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Step 1: Fulfill Educational Requirements
The first step to teaching dance in public schools in Connecticut is to complete a bachelor's degree and an approved teacher training program. All prospective dance instructors also need 30 semester hours of dance education. According to the Department of Education, these courses include:
- Applied study in ballet
- Two applied courses in modern dance
- Applied study in a third folkloric or classical world dance form
- Composition/choreographic principles and dance improvisation
- Dance history/cultures representing a variety of periods and ethnic groups
- Applied anatomy/kinesiology
- Nutrition in a wellness or fitness context
- Dance education methods/curriculum (including elementary and secondary)
Step 2: Take All Required Exams
All future public school dance teachers should take the Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators exam, which is made up of 3 subtests: math, reading, and writing. The math subtest is made up of 56 multiple-choice and fill-in questions and must be completed in 85 minutes. The reading subtest is also 56-questions-long and should take under 85 minutes, but the questions are both multiple-choice and based on a supplied passage. The third subtest, writing, is made up of 40 multiple-choice questions and two essay questions. Test-takers will have 100 minutes for this subtest.
Find schools that offer these popular programs
- Teacher Education, Multiple Levels
- Teaching, Adults
- Teaching, Elementary
- Teaching, High School
- Teaching, Junior High
- Teaching, Kindergarten and Preschool
- Teaching, Waldorf and Steiner Education
- Teaching, Young Children
Step 3: Get Educator Certification in Connecticut
The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) mandates that all teachers must have at least a valid teaching license through the state of Connecticut, and there are three kinds of certifications for prospective teachers. The first, the Initial Educator Certificate, is meant for applicants who meet all educational requirements but have less than 3 years of teaching experience over the last 10 years. The Provisional Educator Certificate is meant for the applicant with 10 months of experience with an Initial Educator Certificate or someone with 30 months of applicable experience over the course of 10 years teaching in another state or at a nonpublic school. The Professional Educator Certificate will be awarded to applicants with 30 school months of experience in a Connecticut school after the completion of additional classes approved by the Department of Education.
Once all the specific dance instructor qualifications are met, make sure to meet the general requirements for teaching in Connecticut. Submit an application to the Connecticut State Department of Education along with a $50 application fee. This application must include transcripts of all postsecondary work.
Certification and Career Resources
Would you like some practice before the Praxis? Students interested in pursuing dance instructor certification can read more detailed guides and practice for future exams with the following study guides: